Ipsy November 2017 Glam Bag
ipsy, subscription boxes, unboxing

The One with the Ipsy November 2017 Glam Bag

Hello lovely people! November has come and gone and yes, I failed to post about my Ipsy glam bag! I know a lot of us got our bags really late last month. I personally didn’t get mine until the 20th, and then 2 days later, I had to put my dog to sleep. I won’t go into detail about how I’ve been dealing with that in this post but suffice to say, I didn’t put blogging at the top of my priorities.

I had the day off work today and I thought grumpily to myself, “of course on my day off it would be such gloomy weather.” I really wondered if the sun has been working against me. But lo and behold, the clouds parted long enough to shine some light through my balcony doors and I was able to snap these shots!

Ipsy November 2017 Glam Bag

So enough complaining, let’s take a look at the November glam bag. I’m sure you’ve all seen it by now! There were two colour options sent out – this turquoise-y blue and a mustard-y yellow. I was happy to get the blue because I’m not a fan of yellow in the mustard-y variety.

Now let’s reveal what I received in my bag!

What is it? Ipsy Glam Bag (referral link)
How much is it? $10 USD per month or $110 USD yearly
Ships to? Canada & US
Shipping costs? $4.95 USD per month; Free for US
What’s inside? 5 deluxe sample or full size beauty products, plus a makeup bag

Doucce Freematic Highlighter in Solstice

Doucce Freematic Highlighter in “Solstice”

This is a brand I have been seeing make the subscription box rounds a lot lately! In addition to Ipsy, they have an eyeshadow palette in the FabFitFun box and their mascara was in my last Topbox.

I don’t know why a beauty company would choose to name themselves “Doucce” which if it’s pronounced the way I’m saying it is slang for poop. Maybe I’ve been around too many men lately! XD

But anyway, let’s talk about the highlighter. It’s absolutely gorgeous! “Solstice” is a beautiful champagne shade. It’s pigmented and smooth to the touch! It also comes in a decent sized pan (I like to compare to those awfully small theBalm samples XD) which will be a nice addition to my Z Palette.

I’ve been using highlighter a lot lately, not so much on my cheekbones but on my cupid’s bow and under my eyebrow arch. Gives me a little glow without being too extra!

This sample is 3.4 g but there’s no size description for the full size anywhere that I can find so unfortunately I can’t calculate an accurate value. I am going to estimate the sample to be valued around $5 CAD.

Check it out here!

Retail Value: $5 CAD for 3.4 g {estimate} (full size is $14 USD / $17.78 CAD)

img_1044

Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil

This will be my third Josie Maran Argan Oil to add to my collection! XD I have so many samples of this but I have yet to try it. I use my skincare in a rotation and oils are something I don’t get through very fast. I’m still working on my Fresh Seaberry one!

I am pretty excited to finally give this a go. I feel like I’ll like it a lot! I may end up just opening one sooner and using it for this winter, which is when my skin will benefit from its moisturizing and nourishing properties the most.

Check it out here!

Retail Value: $5.40 CAD for 4.5 ml (full size is $60 CAD for 50 ml)

img_1045

Laneige Lip Sleeping Mask

By far, the product I was most excited to receive in my glam bag is this one right here! You don’t know how many times I added this in and out of my Sephora cart! I’ve always wanted to try it but a lot of lip balms and treatments cause a rash on my lips. So I didn’t want to buy a full size when I wasn’t sure how my lips would react.

I just about bought the sample size pack, too, right before my Ipsy reveal but as soon as I saw my spoilers, I took it out of my cart! I figure I’ll give this sample size a go and if I love it, then I’ll buy it.

I used it for the first time today and so far, I’m really liking it! But I will have to use it for a few days to see if my lips react! It has an amazing berry scent and feels so smooth and moisturizing on the lips!

Check it out here!

Retail Value: $3.60 CAD for 3 g (full size is $24 CAD for 20 g)

Benefit They're Real Lengthening & Volumizing Mascara

Benefit They’re Real Lengthening & Volumizing Mascara

This mascara is not new to me! I’ve owned a few minis of it in the past and I’ve always thought it was a pretty good mascara! I also just got a full size version in my Influenster Benefit VoxBox so I may end up gifting this one to my sister or save it for a giveaway!

The thing I like most about this mascara is how lengthening it is. I find I can get really long lashes with it! But there are a few cons. It claims to be volumizing but I find it very difficult to build up any volume. Therefore, I personally like to layer it with another more volumizing mascara!

Because of the spiky brush, you do have to be careful not to poke your eyeballs! XD

Check it out here!

Retail Value: $10.94 CAD for 3 g (full size is $31 CAD for 8.5 g)

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Feisty

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in “Feisty”

I have accumulated quite the collection of these Tarte blushes in the last month! First I bought the Tarte Blush Bazaar Palette, then I picked up my Sephora birthday gift which included a mini size and now I have this mini size as well! Luckily, not a single repeat shade!

We had the chance to receive 1 of 3 shades – “Feisty,” “Quirky” or “Idol” – and I received “Feisty.” I read a lot of Ipsy reveals and I only saw people receive this shade so if you got “Quirky” or “Idol,” you’re one of the few!

I really love the formula of these blushes! I haven’t tried this particular one yet but I have swatched it and it’s such a beautiful dusty rose, which I think is a flattering colour for me!

This particular shade is not available in full size version that I can find.

Check it out here!

Retail Value: $10.18 CAD for 1.5 g (full size is $38 CAD for 5.6 g)

Swatches of Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in "Feisty" and Doucce Freematic Highlighter in "Solstice"
Swatches of Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in “Feisty” and Doucce Freematic Highlighter in “Solstice”

Total Retail Value: $35.12 CAD

Pixi by Petra Lower Lash Mascara

Points Item: Pixi by Petra Lower Lash Mascara

I redeemed 600 points for this Lower Lash Mascara from Pixi! I haven’t redeemed points in a long time because they started charging a lot more points for even smaller items. Since I had so many points saved up, I decided to try out this mascara. I have barely-there short pitiful bottom lashes that I usually don’t even bother putting mascara on! Big brushes just make it too difficult and mascara ends up everywhere. So I’m hoping I’ll have better luck with this! We shall see! 😀

img_1041

Final Thoughts?

The value of my bag this month is pretty low as far as Ipsy is concerned. For example, my October bag was just shy of a $100 value! It’s definitely my record for lowest value! While I don’t expect a $100 value, I usually expect around a $50 value. However, I’m not too concerned about it since I am happy with the items I received.

My favourite item I received is the Laneige lip mask and then probably the Tarte blush! Since the Argan oil and Benefit mascara are repeat items for me, they are a little less exciting but welcome additions to my collection. I can’t wait to try the highlighter, as well, to see if it’s as nice on the face as it is in the swatch!

Were you happy with your Ipsy bag last month? This post is so late, reveals for December are almost live! XD With that said, the December bag is super pretty and it might be my last bag for awhile because I’ve temporarily cancelled my subscription as I’m trying to save money. It will be sad not getting Ipsy every month anymore! 😦

Take care everyone and thanks for reading!

P.s. On my Ipsy account, I have 3 free bags to send to friends! The invite is valid only for first-time subscribers and you must be located in Canada or the United States. I do not receive any compensation, points, etc. for sending them out. If you’re interested, let me know in the comments with your full name/email (or DM me on Instagram/Twitter if you’d rather not leave the information publicly) and I’ll send you the email. I recommend that you read the details of the offer carefully because your “subscription” for the free bag will auto-renew for the next month so don’t forget to cancel if you don’t plan on subscribing afterwards!

tigritsafooter

InstagramTwitterTumblrPinterestBloglovin’

35 thoughts on “The One with the Ipsy November 2017 Glam Bag”

    1. Thank you! It was roughly $20 for me in CAD because of the exchange! It’s more expensive for Canadians than Americans unfortunately lol but I think $20 for all of this is still a good deal!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Surprisingly, I am not a huge fan of that mascara, but I’ll give it another shot. Let me know how you like the lip mask, I’ve been wanting to try it for a while… And I sent you a DM on Instagram for the free Ipsy bag 🙂

    Like

  2. You got really great brands this month! I’m impressed that most of them are sold at sephora, I get a lot of indie brands from Ipsy. I’ve also noticed that the points redemption cost has gotten higher while the sample size has got smaller.. Not a fan of the change!

    Like

    1. That’s so true. I like getting indie brands but I find them too hard to get most of the time. I’d rather just buy something from Sephora where I know my shipping is free and I can return in store easily if there’s a problem lol.

      Like

      1. Yeah it’s the shipping that gets me too. I hate spending money on shipping! I always try to reach the minimum for free shipping but then I end up spending more than I should have. XD

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the color of this bag, it’s sooo pretty! I think the lip mask sounds pretty nice! I hope you like all the goodies you got! ☺️

    Like

  4. The Laneige mask is probably the one I would the most excited about as well – It’s probably because we’re crazy about Korean skincare haha 😀 The overall value of the Ipsy sounds really great, and it sounds like you’ll definitely get your money worth!

    Like

  5. I really want to try the Laneige Lip Mask, I am using the Laneige Water Sleep Mask and it’s amazing and I read great reviews on the lip mask as well!!

    Yiota
    pinkdaisyloves.blogspot.com

    Like

  6. LMAO at “Doucce” = poop! 😆
    The Josie Maran is a great oil – a little bottle like that lasts ages if you only use on the face. I tend to use it in my hair as well.
    And oooh the Laneige Lip Sleeping Mask has such raves online – that would be my pick of this bag too.
    By the way, I really like your usage of peacock feathers as props for your photos in this post! 🙂

    Like

    1. I’ve been really enjoying the lip sleeping mask! I’m really happy I got it! It’s such a tiny little jar too but a little goes a long way so I can see it lasting a long time!
      And thanks so much! ❤

      Like

  7. Ooooh, such nice content! I would be very excited for that Laneige lip sleep mask and that Tarte Blush! xoxo Sarah

    Like

Leave a comment