empties, reviews

The One with October 2017’s Sheet Masks

I’m doing something a little different this month for my used sheet masks! Because they’re such a niche topic, I figure I’d do a separate post for them instead of including them with my empties. My empties posts are usually long enough as it is!

I also know there is a wonderful Asian beauty community that loves to sheet mask and especially try new ones! Hopefully these reviews will help make your decisions a tad easier. 😉

I used a total of 7 sheet masks last month which for me is a lot. I always say I wish I could increase to about 2-3 a week, because normally I average only 1-2 a week. I’m ashamed to say I haven’t masked even once yet in November…uh oh. I’ll have to play catch up, but I digress.

I took notes on all my masks so that I wouldn’t forget how I felt about them! Look how dedicated I am! XD

Skin Republic CoQ10 + Caviar Face Mask Sheet + Skin Republic Neck + Décolletage Repair 20 Minute Treatment

Skin Republic CoQ10 + Caviar Face Mask Sheet

“Rich in vitamins, antioxidants and amino acids help to hydrate, nourish and repair. Rejuvenating the appearance of dry skin.

This sheet mask had a ton of essence and I found the material to be thicker than most masks. It only had an okay fit, which is normal because for some reason, sheet masks are always too big for me. It stayed put really well on my face for about 20 minutes but at that point, the essence had dried up in the chin area, although everywhere else was still fine. I left it on for 30 minutes.

After removal and I patted in the essence, my skin was left only slightly sticky (which again, I find normal for sheet masks). Overall, my skin felt more hydrated and looked a little brighter as well.

Repurchase? I would like to but I think $8 for one sheet mask is too expensive.

Skin Republic Neck + Décolletage Repair 20 Minute Treatment

“Collagen, CoQ10 and Vitamin E help to repair dry skin and restore firmness for a more youthful tone and texture. Rice Bran, Mulberry and Licorice help reduce appearances of freckles and age spots.”

Here’s something a little different for you! Yes, this is a neck sheet mask! When I saw this in Winners one day, I knew I had to try it! Last year my friend told me how you’re supposed to care for your neck and décolletage area like you would your face. It woke me! I haven’t looked back since.

This was quite tricky to unwrap and position but once you get it on, it actually does stick well. You have to make sure you are wearing a shirt with a wide neckline such as a tank top. This had lots of essence and I wore it for 45 minutes. I could have worn it longer, too. It was still wet when I took it off!

After removal, the essence did leave my skin feeling pretty sticky for awhile but I really liked the results I got from this mask. My skin felt hydrated and my fine lines were softened. Most interesting was how a few sun spots I had on my neck pretty much disappeared after using this. And it wasn’t temporary either! They didn’t just go into hiding and surprise me the next day by popping back up. The mask truly did fade them permanently!

Repurchase? I would for the $2.99 I paid at Winners but $10 is a little steep.

The Face Shop Real Nature Longan Face Mask + The Face Shop Real Nature Blueberry Face Mask

The Face Shop Real Nature Longan Face Mask

“The mask sheet drenched in serum with nutrient-rich Longan revitalizes and nourishes tired skin.”

The Face Shop were the first sheet masks I ever tried and a long time ago, I did a bulk order of 40 masks. I’m still trying to get through them although I’m pretty close to the end. I find these masks to be great for a cheap price.

Like most The Face Shop masks, it only had an okay fit for me. This mask didn’t have much essence on the sheet. It did stay put on my face but I only wore it for 25 minutes because I felt like nothing was soaking into my skin. It hadn’t dried up or anything but it felt like it wasn’t absorbing for some reason.

My skin did feel more hydrated and a tad brighter after removing this mask. I also found it only slightly sticky and somewhat greasy looking. Overall, I didn’t enjoy my experience with this mask which isn’t usual for this brand, for me.

Repurchase? No.

The Face Shop Real Nature Blueberry Face Mask

“This mask contains a serum with moisturizing and nourishing properties to leave skin soft and healthy looking.”

This mask had tons of essence and had a nice sweet smell. The fit was only ok. It started out really well in the forehead and nose but was wrinkly everywhere else! XD Despite that, no slipping and sliding. It stayed put! I wore this mask for about 40 minutes and it was still going strong everywhere except the chin area which dried out.

My skin didn’t look greasy after removal but did feel a little sticky. For what is a moisturizing mask, I didn’t get as much moisture as I expected. My skin only felt slightly more hydrated but my skin did feel nice in the end.

Repurchase? It’s discontinued as far as I know.

The Crème Shop Wake Up, Skin! Animated Animal Face Mask + The Face Shop Intense Firming MasCream Sheet

The Crème Shop Wake Up, Skin! Animated Animal Face Mask

“This rejuvenating mask brings life back to tired skin. Infused with coconut gel, this rambunctious raccooon moisturizes and renews dull skin.”

I found these adorable masks at Winners. They were on clearance so I picked up a pack of them! Character masks are always fun but I didn’t expect much from it!

This mask fit a little wrinkly in some areas but it wasn’t overly huge. It did have some weird eye flaps for some reason. It was absolutely dripping in essence! I wore it for 30 minutes and there was still essence everywhere except the chin area, which started coming loose at around the 20 minute mark.

I was pretty impressed with how my skin looked afterwards. It looked brighter, my redness was reduced and my fine lines softened. My pores even looked smoother. The only negative was I felt like the mask could be more hydrating than it was. More pros were that my skin didn’t look greasy at all and it was one of the least sticky masks I’ve used.

Repurchase? Yes!

The Face Shop Intense Firming MasCream Sheet

“This intense-action MasCream Sheet firms sagging skin. Formulated with marine collagen and black diamond truffle to leave skin supple and improve elasticity.”

I avoided doing this mask for a long time because I thought I had to pour the cream onto the mask myself. Why would I ever think that?! Just because of the picture on the front of the package (and not reading the directions on the back)! Hey, we all have our blond moments, don’t we? 😉

I found there to be a lot of cream in the package but not so much on the actual mask. It stuck well to my face though and lasted 30 minutes. It absorbs really well after patting it into the skin, and doesn’t leave much stickiness at all. My skin felt nicely hydrated from this mask and it looked more even and brighter, as well.

Repurchase? Maybe. I prefer sheet masks with an essence rather than a cream.

Too Cool For School Egg Cream Mask

Too Cool For School Egg Cream Mask

“Soft microfibre sheet tightly adheres to skin and helps deliver active ingredients quickly and intensively. Mask sheet is concentrated with Egg yolk extract and Coconut extract to revive and nourish rough skin, and give moisture and radiance.”

I was pretty excited to get this mask in my Sephora Favourites Soko to Tokyo set! It’s a pretty popular mask and I wanted to see if it lives up to the hype!

First of all, this mask has a thicker more creamy serum rather than the liquidy essence that I’m used to in most masks. I feel like that could be the deciding factor right there if people like it or not. While at first I wasn’t sure, I didn’t end up bothered by it. I noticed that the serum was alllll in the mask. There wasn’t any extra in the package.

The fit was only ok – the nose was too short for me and the forehead much too large, but the slits at the bottom of the mask allowed for a good fit in the cheek and chin areas. I wore this mask for around 40 minutes without issue. When I took it off, I have to say, the wrinkles in the mask left indents between my eyebrows which caused me to temporarily resemble Warf from Star Trek! XD

I found my skin to look sort of greasy afterwards but only slightly sticky. I felt like my fine lines were softened but I don’t know if this mask was worth the hype for me. I expected it to be a lot more hydrating. I found it just okay in that department.

Repurchase? No. If this mask was $3 or $4, I probably would but not at $8 a pop.

Conclusion

I hope this post has been helpful for those who love to sheet mask. Maybe it can help give ideas on which ones to try next (or to avoid). Let me know if you’ve tried any of these masks or if there is a mask that I absolutely have to try!

tigritsafooter

♥ Instagram ♥ Twitter ♥ Tumblr ♥ Pinterest ♥ Bloglovin’ ♥

27 thoughts on “The One with October 2017’s Sheet Masks”

  1. I really want to love sheet masks! I’ve only tried a couple and I felt like they didn’t do anything for me! Maybe I need to try different ones.

    Like

    1. Aw thanks! Yeah, they’re fun but you need to have the time to do them because you need at least 20 extra minutes for your routine or if you’re like me, you’ll try to stretch it to 30 or 40 lol.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t have the best luck with these particular Face Shop masks but I’ve used quite a few in the past that I really enjoyed. I recommend the Creme Shop one because I felt like my skin looked really good after but it wasn’t super hydrating surprisingly.

      Like

  2. I used to mask twice a week but I’ve been so busy, I forget about it lately but I should start doing it again. I try to get my sheet masks on special because some are quite expensive for one use or it has to be super amazing. Great reviews 🙌

    Like

  3. When I first started getting into skincare, I used to love sheet masks, but now I find they don’t really make much of a difference to my skin regardless of what brand it’s from, the ingredients included, or what it claims to do. Plus they’re always HUGE on me because I have a small face, LOL. It’s such a shame because sheet masks are way more accessible now than when I was into them. I’ve always been curious about that egg cream mask though, haha!

    Like

    1. That’s funny because I’m wondering if the same thing is happening to me lol. Maybe it’s because my skincare regime has improved so I have less need for sheet masks? That’s a very interesting point you bring up! They’re always huge on me too lol. I really wonder sometimes if the perfect shaped one for my face is out there somewhere! XD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was thinking the same thing about the sheet masks – maybe our regular skincare routine is sufficient enough so it feels like the sheet masks don’t do much.

        Ha, more reason to continue trying more sheet masks, to try to find the perfect-sized one for your face! Let me know if you do XD

        Like

  4. 7 sheetsmask are alot! Well compared to me hahaha 😀 I’m lukcy if I even go through 3. I just got some TonyMoly masks the other day in the mail. I do like them, but I do wan’t to try new ones. Innisfree has some mask, that I know are super popular, I think they might be the next ones on my list. Do you know what you should consider getting? A silicone cover! It’s a silicone mask you put over your sheetmask, and that way your mask stays moist for longer 🙂

    Like

    1. 7 sheet masks in one month is honestly my record! LOL I usually do around 4… and this month I literally haven’t done any. Fail. I’ve never tried the TonyMoly or Innisfree! I’ve never heard of a silicone cover for sheet masks before! Sounds very cool! I can usually get 30-40 mins out of my masks anyway though!

      Like

Leave a comment