Smashbox Drawn In. Decked Out. Shadow + Highlight Palette Set
reviews, shopping

The One with the Smashbox Drawn In. Decked Out. Shadow + Highlight Palette Set

Hello everyone!

First of all, I have to admit something. These pictures were taken back in September and I kept putting off this post because I didn’t want to just include swatches. I wanted to showcase how the shadows look on the lids, as well. While I did manage to play around with these palettes a few times, those times were almost always at 1 am and who can get a good picture at 1 am on an iPhone?! Certainly not me.

So, I decided to just say forget about it and write the darn post without pictures of myself. And let’s face it, I hate selfies anyways! I don’t mind getting my picture taken but getting a selfie I am actually happy with is such a tedious task. XD

Smashbox Drawn In. Decked Out. Shadow + Highlight Palette Set

Note: This is going to be more of a first impressions post than a full out review. I haven’t extensively tested out each shade enough to provide more than just first impressions.

*All prices in CAD.

Let’s talk about this Smashbox Drawn In. Decked Out. Shadow + Highlight Palette Set. For only $48, it came with 2 full size Smashbox Cover Shot eyeshadow palettes and a travel size Spotlight cheek palette.

  • 0.17 oz/ 5.1 g Travel-Size Spotlight Palette in Pearl
  • 0.21 oz/ 6.2 g Full-Size Cover Shot Eyeshadow Palette in Ablaze
  • 0.21 oz/ 6.2 g Full-Size Limited Edition Cover Shot Eyeshadow Palette in Sultry

This set was such a steal! The cost of one Cover Shot palette is $35. For just $13 more, you get two additional palettes. I knew I couldn’t pass up this deal! I have been wanting the Ablaze palette for a long time and this was the perfect opportunity for me to buy it while also getting a few extras!

Let me also take a second to scream out that this set is in stock currently on the Canadian Sephora. Shocking, I know. Check it out here!

Smashbox Drawn In. Decked Out. Shadow + Highlight Palette Set

These palettes are teensy tiny. They are smaller than my iPhone! I’ve mentioned before that I dislike giant palettes and prefer more compact ones for storage reasons, so the size works for me. Each palette is plastic with a magnetic close and a mirror inside. They don’t stay open on their own very long, so taking pictures was definitely a challenge!

The design on the outside is different from the original palettes which feature a light or fire burst type pattern. These ones have a lenticular design (that shift depending on the angle you are looking at it) and is designed by Ana Strumpf who is an editorial illustrator. They’re much more cutesy looking and while I normally like cutesy stuff, I prefer the original designs much more.

This set also included a sticker sheet also designed by Ana Strumpf but to be honest, I misplaced them a long time ago and didn’t get a photo.

Smashbox Cover Shot: Eye Palette in Ablaze

Cover Shot: Eye Palette in Ablaze

I’m starting with my favourite of the trio and the reason I jumped on this deal in the first place! I always thought this would be the perfect palette for me because of its warm colours that complement my blue eyes. I absolutely love the reds and copper shades included in this palette!

Smashbox Cover Shot: Eye Palette in Ablaze

In total, there are 8 shades with an even amount of mattes and shimmers. All the shades are very pigmented and blend nicely. The shimmers perform amazing when sprayed with Mac Fix+. They’re not as impressive without but that could also be because I don’t own any amazing flat shader brushes.

Smashbox Cover Shot: Eye Palette in Ablaze + Swatches

One shade, the deepest red (Nirvana) appears to have specks of shimmer in it in the pan but comes across matte on the skin. The lightest shade, Relaxed, is pretty much the same colour as my skin so it doesn’t show up well in the swatches. I find all the shades to be extremely buttery and creamy except Nirvana which was drier (but I do like how it applies).

Smashbox Cover Shot: Eye Palette in Sultry

Cover Shot: Eye Palette in Sultry

This is a limited edition palette only available in this set! While Ablaze covers the warm side of the spectrum, Sultry is there to please the lovers of cool toned smokey eyes. This palette has 5 mattes and 3 shimmers, and features some grey and taupe shades in addition to the purples.

img_9428

Honestly, I don’t find this palette as impressive quality-wise as the Ablaze palette. I think it is decent but not as good. I think maybe because it is limited edition, they didn’t spend as much time on it. It’s just not as pigmented and some shades are a bit patchy. It could be my brushes or my technique, so keep that in mind. I know this palette has been given good reviews elsewhere.

I’ve always heard good quality matte purples are difficult to make which is one of the shades I have an issue with (Black Currant). While I’m able to swatch it ok, building it up on the eye was tough. It’s also one of the 2 shades (the other is Glitz) that aren’t creamy to the touch. The rest of the shades are very buttery, though.

Smashbox Cover Shot: Eye Palette in Sultry + Swatches

I have to admit, I love purple eyeshadow so I was pretty intrigued by this palette. But I’m just not sure if I like the looks of dark purples on me and other smokey shades. It’s weird because I have cool toned skin but it just looks off for some reason. So unfortunately, I’m not as excited about this palette as I was in the beginning, especially after not enjoying the quality of it.

Smashbox Spotlight: Highlighting Palette in Pearl

Spotlight: Cheek Palette in Pearl

This was such a great inclusion to this set! I never actively seek out buying highlighters so it’s a nice addition to my collection. This is a travel size palette. The full size costs $40 for 8.61 g which makes this palette worth $23.69!

img_9426

This palette was co-created with Casey Holmes, the YouTube makeup guru. It has 3 shades – Turn It On, Crank It Up and Blow a Fuse. I really like all the colours! These aren’t blinding highlights but can be built up. I find the first two shades to be very creamy in the pan and apply very nicely. The last shade is more glittery.

smashboxspotlightpalettepearlswatches

Overall, I really like this palette and the shades that are in it. They work really well for my light skin tone.

Conclusion

Smashbox Drawn In. Decked Out. Shadow + Highlight Palette Set

That’s all for my first impressions “review” of this set. I mainly wanted to be able to showcase this set because it’s quite beautiful and of course, the deal is insane. Again, I want to reiterate that this isn’t meant to be a comprehensive review but simply some quick thoughts and a chance to showcase swatches!

If you’re like me and wanted to buy the Ablaze palette anyway, I would really recommend this set. If you’re considering it mostly for the Sultry palette, I would suggest passing because I think you will find better quality elsewhere!

Do you own this set or any of the palettes included? Let me know what you think!

tigritsafooter

♥ Instagram ♥ Twitter ♥ Tumblr ♥ Pinterest ♥ Bloglovin’ ♥

34 thoughts on “The One with the Smashbox Drawn In. Decked Out. Shadow + Highlight Palette Set”

  1. I really like the packaging and the layout of the eyeshadows. I think they did a great job making a small palette but also incorporating a variety of shades that work to make multiple looks.

    Like

  2. I keep going back and forth on this set. I don’t need more highlighters, but I wanted that palette with purples. Now that I see your swatches, I’m not so sure, since I already have quite a few purples that become greyish/taupe once swatched or used on my eyes. Decisions, decisions…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I was close to buying Ablaze but decided against it last minute. No idea why though, I just thought I don’t need another palette but after reading your review and seeing the swatches, I kind of kicking myself. No more shopping for me though, I just dropped a lot of $$ buying Wayne Goss brushes.

    Shireen⎜Reflection of Sanity

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was close to buying Ablaze many times in the 6 months prior so I’m glad I ended up holding off. I usually lust after things for awhile before finally buying them! I bet the Wayne Goss brushes are amazing!

      Like

  4. I have the pearl palette and love it!! I really want the ablaze palette because it’s sooo pretty! I have so many shades similar, but it’s just so pretty! 😍

    Like

  5. Darn, I missed this set the last time I placed an order! I also really don’t like taking selfies for reviews, I feel like I have to take 50 photos to get a good one. It’s such a hassle.
    Your swatches look great! I love the shades in the ablaze palette, the second palette has a few shades I would wear too, but the first one is the best I think

    Like

  6. I love how you did the swatches to match the layout of the palettes! Great photos as always ☺️ This is definitely such a great deal, however I already own two of these cover shot palettes and I just don’t use them, so I’m hesitant to purchase more. I do LOVE the Spotlight highlighting palettes though! I’ve recently started using them a bunch again and they are so nice!

    Like

  7. I love how giftable this set is! I don’t really care for Sultry, but Ablaze looks nice… I have enough warm shadows as it is. I didn’t end up purchasing this- though I thought about getting it for either myself or as a gift on multiple occasions. I prefer smaller sized palettes too! Small palettes are just easier to reach for and take up less room.

    Like

    1. I agree it’s great as a gift set! You could give each palette to a different person! Ablaze is the star of this set for me too. Although I didn’t expect to love the highlighter palette as much as I do!

      Like

Leave a comment