favourites, reviews

The One with the August 2017 Favourites

Hello everyone! This is my second favourites post I’ve ever written! I just started doing them last month and since I enjoyed the process, I figured I would continue writing them. As long as I have enough favourites to feature, we’re good to go!


On a side note, I don’t think I’ll be doing my “Month of Shopping” monthly post for August because I did really well with not spending a lot of money. The only things I did end up buying, I already featured in their own individual posts!


Benefit Hoola Bronzer
I’ve owned this bronzer for almost a year now but I almost always reached for my Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer instead. Since I ran out of the Butter Bronzer, I decided to try and force myself to shop my own stash. I’m glad I did because I forgot how great the Hoola bronzer is! I love a nice matte bronzer that is on the lighter side because I do have a lighter skin tone.

I find this formula to be easily blendable which is highly important to me in a bronzer. The focus of my breakouts are on and below my cheekbones. Of course, that’s where the bronzer goes! So when it’s time to blend, if I need to go to town on blending, all the work I did concealing my pimples comes undone.

The last couple weeks of August, and even this first week of September, I’ve been using this bronzer in place of my blush, as well. I’m just loving the way it looks and I’ll probably keep doing that for awhile longer… until I miss my blush anyway!
Check it out here!

The Body Shop Satsuma Shower Gel
Ever since I was a teenager, Satsuma has been my favourite scent at The Body Shop. I’m obsessed with citrus scents in general, so it should be no surprise! It smells heavenly! One thing I love most about The Body Shop’s shower gels is that they fill the entire bathroom with their scent and I can still smell it on my skin after getting out of the shower. I don’t find that to be the case with most body washes.

I love that this shower gel doesn’t dry out my skin and it lathers so nicely. One thing I noticed with the strawberry scent of this shower gel was that I needed to use a lot of product but luckily, I’m finding the opposite with the Satsuma. Luckily, this goes on sale a lot too so I can get a good deal on it!
Check it out here!

Goomee The Markless Hair Loop
If you’ve heard of Invisibobbles, you’ll recognize this hair accessory! They remind me of old telephone cords and I am obsessed with them! XD These are the same idea as Invisibobble but I’m pretty sure the Goomee version is better. I’m not knocking Invisibobbles because I like them a lot and think they are really good, so I think that is just showing how great I think the Goomees are!

The reason I think Goomees are better is because they don’t get all stretched out after using them. I’ve been using the same 2 all summer and they have yet to stretch out! My Invisibobbles stretched out very quickly and didn’t quite go back to how they began – even using the soak in hot water trick.

I personally use these for messy buns and I think they work best for them. Once in awhile, I use them for a low ponytail when I don’t want a bump left in my hair. If you’re like me and your scalp hurts really bad from messy buns, these hair loops help big time. I am also able to create a fantastic messy bun without fussing around too much, which with a regular hair elastic, I usually fail miserably.
Check them out here!

Sol de Janeiro Brazilian Bum Bum Cream
This is technically pronounced “boom boom” cream but I think bum bum is a little more fun. 😉  Especially since that’s exactly where I love to use it! This cream is very expensive so I usually apply to just my butt and thighs – basically the spots that I have cellulite. I’m not a big girl – 120 lbs – but I definitely rock those cottage cheese thighs when I sit down! I wanted to wear shorts this summer without feeling self conscience. Enter the Bum Bum Cream.

This cream not only smells amazingly to die for fantastic but after regular application, I noticed a big difference in my cellulite. I could sit down in my car with my shorts on and not worry about people looking at my thighs! It really helps firm up your skin! I imagine it is the guaraná that helps smooth me out because it gives your skin a shot of caffeine!

Aside from helping with cellulite, I also love this because it is very fast absorbing and a little goes a long way! One thing I didn’t notice until being in the sunlight are the tiniest flecks of shimmer it leaves on my skin. It is a pricey cream but I’ve decided to buy one jar a year for the summer months!
Check it out here!

Nuxe Nuxellence Éclat Youth & Radiance Revealing Anti-Aging Care
This has been a big surprise for me in August! The first time I put it on my skin, I returned to the bathroom 5 minutes later and looked in the mirror. I couldn’t believe my eyes! My skin looked so radiant! This stuff is fast acting! It makes my skin look so much better. It takes away my redness and evens everything out, almost like I colour corrected my skin!

Since then, I have been hooked and while I want to use it every day, I save it for no-makeup days so I can really appreciate how much it improves my bare skin. Plus, I only have a deluxe sample and the full size is $71. I only found that out today when looking it up and I may have cried a little.
Check it out here!

Have you tried any of these products? Let me know in the comments! What were your thoughts? Anything in here that you’ve been wanting to try?

Until next time!

tigritsafooter

InstagramTwitterTumblrPinterestBloglovin’

17 thoughts on “The One with the August 2017 Favourites”

  1. You have some really great favs! I’ve been wanting to try the Benefit Hoola Bronzer! Those hair loops!! Yes!! Totally reminds me of the old phone cords lol. What a cool idea! I definitely need to pick those up! Great post! 💕💜💕

    Like

  2. The body shop shower gels are so good! I haven’t tried the satsuma one yet, but I found a honeymania one in my bath box (it’s literally so full that I found the shower gel hiding at the bottom haha), so I’m excited to give that a try. I had to get those hair loops after seeing them on your instagram! I went back to TK Maxx and found them, they’re not the same brand but they seem to work well so far 🙂 x

    Velvet Blush

    Like

    1. Sounds like you have a giant stash of stuff like I do! I hope the Honeymania one is good! I haven’t tried that one. I’m glad you found some hair loops that work! I think there are many different brands coming out with them now!

      Like

Leave a Reply

