reviews, the body shop

The One with the Battle of The Body Shop’s Camomile Eye Makeup Removers

Today I bring to you the battle of The Body Shop’s Camomile Waterproof Eye & Lip Makeup Remover vs. the Camomile Gentle Eye Makeup Remover. This is a post I have been wanting to do for some time. I haven’t done a review like this where I directly compare two products, let alone two products from the same brand!


Why did I decide to review and compare the two? I originally tried the waterproof version awhile back and loved it and repurchased it a couple of times since then. At some point, I also got the gentle version to try and I was just left unimpressed in comparison. Let’s take a closer look at the two products and what I like and dislike about each of them.

First I want to tell you a bit about each product and afterwards I will directly compare them and also do a removal test for you!


The Body Shop Camomile Waterproof Eye & Lip Makeup Remover

  • Costs: $18 CAD
  • Size: 160 ml (5.4 US FL OZ)

This makeup remover is used for the eyes and the lips! It is claimed to be oil free but it does contain something that makes it a bit oily because you can see the separation and it needs to be shaken to mix. I don’t find it to leave my eyelids greasy, however. You are supposed to rinse it but I’ll be honest and say I normally don’t. I only rinse it when using it on my lips. This product does not have a strong scent. It’s natural and subtle. Another plus is this product is not only cruelty free (as all The Body Shop products are) but it is also completely vegan.

The Body Shop’s official website description:

Remove all traces of makeup quickly, gently and effectively with our waterproof makeup remover for eyes and lips. Soothing and fragrance free, this is the perfect solution for sensitive skin.

  • Suitable for sensitive skin and contact lens wearers
  • Camomile extract from Norfolk, England
  • Bi-phase eye and lip makeup remover
  • Removes waterproof mascara and lipstick
  • No added fragrance, color or alcohol

Visit the product page on The Body Shop’s website here!

The Body Shop Camomile Gentle Eye Makeup Remover

  • Costs: $18 CAD
  • Size: 250 ml (8.4 US FL OZ)

Unlike the waterproof version, this gentle eye makeup remover is only recommended for the eyes. It is also oil free and looks and feels more like a micellar water. It doesn’t leave any residue on the eyes which is nice since I tend not to rinse this product, either! When first opened, this product has a subtle and natural scent. After a few months, it develops a stronger kind of gross smell which makes me question its shelf life. This is my second bottle of this and this has happened both times. It is cruelty free and vegan.

The Body Shop’s official website description:

Melt away eye makeup around the eyes. Our Camomile eye makeup remover gently cleanses, leaving the skin smooth and clean.

  • Suitable for sensitive skin and contact lens wearers
  • Camomile extract from Norfolk, England
  • Removes eye makeup
  • No added fragrance, color or alcohol
  • Leaves lashes and lids feeling softer and clean

Visit the product page on The Body Shop’s website here!

Now that you have learned a little bit about each product, I will directly compare the two! I created the chart below to show you what I believe to be each products pros and cons. For more detail, check below the chart.

tbscamomilemakeupremovers

The Waterproof remover costs the same amount as the Gentle remover but you get 3 oz less. You also get less convenient packaging as you have to unscrew the lid completely to use it. The Gentle version has a nice flip up cap for us lazy folk. Of course, this would never be a reason for me personally to choose one product over another (unless they were exactly the same).


Both products claim to be suitable for sensitive skin but it’s interesting to note the wording. Neither claim to be for sensitive eyes! I find that worth saying because for some reason, the Gentle version really stings the crap out of my eyes!! Those without sensitive eyes may have better luck than I do with this product. The Waterproof version does not sting my eyes in the slightest.

The Waterproof version has a more oily feel to it whereas the Gentle version has a more water like feel. I already touched on this a little bit in the beginning of my post but the Waterproof version doesn’t leave my lids feeling greasy. I also never rinsed my hand after removing the swatches below and once dry, there is no residue left behind. As expected, the Gentle also leaves zero residue.

The smell is a big factor in these two products. I don’t know what it is but the Gentle version develops a terrible strong smell after a few months. Its shelf life is 12 months according to the packaging but this is my second bottle to develop this weird scent way before its expiry date. It starts off smelling like the Waterproof version – subtle, light, very little fragrance at all – yet somehow turns awful.


Now I would like to show you a removal test I did using swatches on my hand. The products I chose are It Costmetics No-Tug Waterproof Gel Eyeliner, Eyeko Eye Do Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner, and RealHer LadyLove Liquid Lipstick.

swatchremovalsYou can click on the picture to get a closer look at the swatches.

On the top left picture, we have the Waterproof version and on the top right is the Gentle version. For both, I used a cotton pad and starting halfway down the swatch, I applied medium pressure, swiping two times. The Waterproof remover did a great job of getting the removal process started and it’s easy to feel that it won’t take much rubbing to remove the makeup completely. On the Gentle side, only the Eyeko liquid eyeliner budged.

The bottom left picture depicts the Waterproof remover doing its job and removing all the makeup completely. It was done by gently rubbing in circular motions all over and it actually all came off in less than the designated 10 seconds. On the bottom right, I applied the same method with the Gentle remover, except I rubbed for the full 10 seconds. As you can see, the only swatch that completely came off was the Eyeko liquid eyeliner. The liquid lipstick and gel eyeliner did not want to come off!

I want to point out that the Gentle makeup remover does not claim to remove lipstick! I simply thought it would be fun to see how well it does. That is one pro of the Waterproof version – it also removes lipstick. It’s neat to see that the Gentle version can remove some waterproof makeup. It depends on the individual product, I suppose! Obviously, the Waterproof remover does not struggle at all in that department.

I didn’t demonstrate either remover’s ability at removing mascara in pictures because I didn’t want to do eyeball pictures (and I also don’t own a waterproof mascara right now). I can confidently say that both versions remove my mascara 100% but the Waterproof works faster with less rubbing.

FINAL VERDICT: So who wins this battle of The Body Shop Camomile Makeup Removers?! Would it be politically correct for me to say “it depends on what you’re looking for?!” For my own personal use, the Waterproof version wins this battle and I have to admit that it is my favourite. I don’t have to worry about rubbing and tugging too hard on the sensitive eye area, it doesn’t sting my eyes and it just gets the job done!

It’s nice that the Gentle version has more product but the fact that it stings my eyes, develops a weird smell and can’t remove all types of eye makeup are all cons I can’t look past. I’d say if it’s fine on your eyes, you don’t care about the smell, and you don’t use any form of waterproof makeup, you’d be okay to purchase this version and get more bang for your buck. Otherwise, I would recommend the Waterproof version!

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed this showdown! I know it’s a long read but I wanted to provide as thorough of a review as possible and I tried not to leave anything out! Please let me know if you have any questions on something I may have failed to mention!!

Let me know in the comments if you have tried one or both of these products! What were your thoughts? Has my review made you curious to try (or not try) either of these makeup removers?!

Have a wonderful day!

tigritsafooter

InstagramTwitterTumblrPinterestBloglovin’

Save

9 thoughts on “The One with the Battle of The Body Shop’s Camomile Eye Makeup Removers”

  1. You’ve sold me on the waterproof version of this makeup remover. I just finished the gentle camomile version this month and I was so disappointed in it. I’ll definitely get the waterproof version next time, even if it is technically more per oz. Great review!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never used wither of these, but I have used the cleansing oil and cleansing balm from this line. I really enjoyed the oil, but the balm came with very little product and didn’t remove much makeup. When I go through my current makeup removers, I’ll try the waterproof makeup remover! Also, I’m right up there with you on sensitive eyes 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

