empties · reviews

The One with the June 2017 Empties

Another month of 2017 officially done. It doesn’t quite feel like July here in Ontario because it’s been so rainy lately. And it will be cold one day, hot the next, and then back to chilly. I just want a week straight of super hot weather so I can go to the beach without freezing my butt off!


But I digress! Let’s get into my empties from June. I do have a few items here that were supposed to go in my May empties but I forgot to include them so they are here instead!Β  πŸ˜‰

Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse Foundation
This is my second bottle of this that I have finished off. I actually really like it but I don’t see it mentioned too often in vlogs or blogs. I like that it gives a natural looking finish but it’s buildable. It doesn’t look cakey on me and although I have oily skin, it holds up very well over the course of the day. My shade is “10 Porcelain Ivory” which has pink undertones. While I’m sticking with BB creams for the summer, I’ll probably repurchase this for the fall!

Too Faced Born This Way Naturally Radiant Concealer
Under the eyes, I love this concealer. While it doesn’t completely cover up my dark circles, it leaves my undereye hydrated – probably due to the coconut water! I’d love to use a heavier concealer but they always make my undereye look so dry and creasey. This is in the shade “fair” which is good for my undereye since it’s lighter than my skin. I did originally try to use this as a spot concealer also but that was a big no-go. One, it just doesn’t have the coverage, but two, it was too light for my skin so it highlighted my blemishes instead of hid them. I already have another tube of this but after that one is done, I think I will continue to experiment with new concealers!

Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation
This foundation actually reminds me of the Maybelline one I used up. They have a very similar natural looking finish with coverage that is buildable. This was the first high end foundation I ever tried so at first I didn’t like it because I think when I thought of high end, I instantly thought of full coverage. So I thought this one fell short. But when I realized high end does not equal full coverage, I ended up liking this foundation for what it was. I’m not sure I’d ever shell out all my dollars for it but I do have a few more minis I’m enjoying using.

Touch in Sol Stretchex Stretch Lash Effect Mascara
My first couple times using this mascara, I was not impressed. But I am never impressed at first. Is it just me or do mascaras need to be worked in?! I feel like they are never at their full potential for their first few uses! I know that sounds weird but I swear it’s true! After working this mascara in, I loved it!

Now, volume-wise, it absolutely sucks. You won’t get any added volume from this mascara. But length? YES! My lashes almost touched my eyebrows… kidding.Β  πŸ˜‰ But seriously, it made my lashes super long, and the neatest thing about this formula is that you almost feel the brush stretching out your lashes. It’s very weird to describe. I love that it separates my lashes also and to fix the nonexistent volume problem, I would always pair it with a volumizing mascara!

The brush itself is also perfect for me because curved brushes like that almost always work out best for me. I would love to purchase this again but I find it weird that Sephora only sells a mini of it in a duo pack with a different mascara.

Benefit They’re Real Lengthening & Volumizing Mascara
I feel like this is one of those mascaras that are good but not great. It’s one that I like but not one that I would call my favourite. I find that it gives good length (not as much as the Stretchex though) and the lash separation is good, too. It doesn’t give me a lot of volume, personally. I’m not a huge fan of the brush but I do love the little ball on the tip! I find it much easier to get my inner lashes with that! I’m not sure if this is technically a waterproof mascara or not, because it doesn’t say, but I feel like it could be. It’s a pain in the butt to remove. You have to be really careful not to rip your eyelashes out!

Tarte Tarteist Lash Paint Mascara
This mascara applies very similarly to the benefit. I find it gave good length and separation, but not a lot of volume like it claims. The brushes are pretty similar too! But I would never buy this mascara again! It flakes and smudges soooo bad on me.

Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner
I used to like this eye liner a lot! That is, until I tried a brush tip, and realized I am way better with them than I am a felt tip like this one. But I only have positive things to say about this liner. I loved how pigmented this black is and I found it very long-wearing.

Kat Von D Ink Liner Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner
This was the first liquid liner I ever tried! I was always way too intimidated. Again, this is not a brush tip, so it’s not my favourite for that reason. I also don’t find it that great compared to the Stila. This one’s pigmentation isn’t as good and I didn’t find it long-wearing either. It’s supposed to be waterproof but it got smudgey on me.

Starlooks Pro Luxe Longwear Eye Liner Pen
I didn’t use this one as much as the other two. It’s just pretty much at a point now where I can’t get a consistent line from it so it’s time to toss. This is another felt tip but it’s a bit larger than the other two, so I found it harder to work with. Stila has this one beat for pigmentation also! I can’t comment on if it’s long wearing because I don’t recall ever wearing it for more than a few hours at a time. I don’t remember having problems like smudging but I’m not 100% sure.

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray
I’ve repurchased this many times. It works great for me! I have oily skin and it helps keep my oil in check. I also like how it makes my makeup look. I’ll continue to repurchase but I’m also curious about other drug store sprays!

Urban Decay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray
I bought this travel size because curiosity got the better of me. The All Nighter is highly revered in the beauty world so I wanted to know if it was all that! I tried the De-Slick version from Urban Decay and found no difference between that and the Infallible. I had the same experience with the All Nighter. There’s no difference in performance that I discovered from the De-Slick version or the L’Oreal Infallible. I don’t think I’d pay full price for this when I can get something cheaper that works just as good.

Olay Ultra Moisture with Shea Butter Body Wash
I used this travel size up on my recent trip to Toronto. I’ve never used an Olay body wash before but I loved this! It’s a shower cream rather than a gel. It made my skin super soft and it lathered nicely. I also really liked the smell! I have quite a few of these travel sizes to use up!

Garnier All-in-1 Micellar Water
In a previous empties post, I stated that I did not enjoy the blue-cap version of this micellar water. That one was the waterproof makeup version. This pink-cap bottle is waaaay better! I actually liked it quite a bit. It doesn’t leave that gross oily film on your skin like the blue cap. If I buy Garnier again in the future, it will be this one – not the blue cap!

Mettrum Originals Hemp Lip Balm
This is in the flavour “watermelon.” It smells really good! I liked this lip balm and it’s neat that they are a Canadian brand! It’s a little on the waxy side. It didn’t break my lips out in a rash so that’s a plus. They are pretty cheap to buy and there are 4 flavours total.

Algenist Genius Ultimate Anti-Aging Eye Cream
You can’t actually buy this at Sephora anymore. I got this as a sample maybe a year ago. I only started using it a couple months ago and it was very balmy. I’m not sure if the texture is supposed to be like that or not. Because of the texture, I found it difficult to apply to the undereye without tugging. I’m wondering if the product wasn’t good anymore. I liked that it didn’t make my undereye feel dried out and I did find it firming. I wouldn’t buy it because even if it was available at Sephora, it’s super expensive for a full size.

Benefit Puff Off!
I’ve had this little sample for forever! I only sporadically used it because I don’t generally suffer from puffy eyes. It’s hard to review when I don’t have the type of undereye it is designed to work for. When I have noticed puffy eyes on myself, it’s probably so subtle that others wouldn’t really notice. I did feel like it works on small amounts of puffiness but I just can’t vouch for anything more than that! So I wouldn’t buy it, obviously. One con is that I felt it dried out my undereye. I started using this before I ever started using eye creams so I think if I had been using hydrating eye creams in conjunction, it would have been fine.

Hey Honey Good Morning Honey Silk Facial Serum
Why couldn’t this have lasted forever?! It actually did last quite awhile because a small amount was enough for my whole face. I find it the perfect serum because it absorbs quickly into the skin, it doesn’t leave your face sticky, and it plays nicely with face creams and foundation! It made my skin super smooth, supple, and hydrated without working against my oily skin. I would love to buy a full size of this. It is pricey and I’d have to look into shipping and all that, but I’m certainly considering it!

Caudalie Vinoperfect Radiance Serum
I don’t have a strong opinion on this. It’s my second tube and I think it’s fine, just not great. It does brighten up my skin but I think it’s the texture of my skin that I don’t like after using this. I’ll use it again if I get another sample but I’d never buy it myself.

Bella Aura Skincare Daily Repair Moisturizer
I was really surprised when I liked this moisturizer. Everyone seems to hate this brand! But so far, I’ve liked everything I’ve tried. The smell is very off putting so I can see why people wouldn’t like that aspect. It does grow on you though! I don’t mind it so much anymore. This moisturizer was very liquidy but I liked that because it was super light on my face but also hydrated my skin enough. I probably wouldn’t run out and buy it because of the hefty price tag but I would recommend it for sure.

NeoStrata Glycolic Renewal Smoothing Lotion
This face cream contains 10% glycolic acid which is an exfoliant for your skin. I’ve successfully used glycolic acid, even products containing 10%, but this lotion was terrible for me. It left my skin so irritated and even somewhat itchy! I mostly felt it on my neck – like a pricking sensation! I would never buy this again!

Novex Brazilian Keratin Extra Deep Hair Care Cream
I’m pretty picky with my deep conditioning masks. I find this one isn’t bad but I just don’t feel like my hair was left as soft as I would have liked after using it. I want it to feel super sleek and soft when I use a hair mask or any sort of deep conditioner. I have another jar of this that I’ll use up but I won’t repurchase.

Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo
I finally got through all my little Amika samples! As I’ve said before, it’s good at making my hair look clean and fresh but it doesn’t provide any extra oomph! So I wouldn’t ever buy this over Batiste which does give me volume.

N.4 Super Comb Prep & Protect
This is another product that seems to have lasted me forever. It was never my first choice to pick up because I don’t like the smell of it. It’s a leave-in conditioner detangling spray. It’s pretty liquidy so I found I don’t go through a bottle as quickly as the gorge* or Revlon Uniq One conditioning sprays, which is a plus. I wouldn’t buy it again because I’d rather buy the Revlon for cheaper, with a nicer smell and more benefits like heat protection!

Pur-Lisse Blue Lotus + White Tea Treatment Sheet Mask
The Pur-Lisse sheet masks are some of my favourites. In general, it’s hard for me not to like a sheet mask. These ones are great because you can keep it on your face for way longer than 20 minutes and continue to soak up the essence. My skin always loves a good sheet mask. It feels softer, looks brighter and plumper, and refreshed. Because I have such problematic skin in the first place, I definitely take notice when there is improvement! I tried to pick up a pack of these from Generation Beauty but they were sold out! I did get a few singles, though!

The Face Shop Real Nature Lotus Face Mask
Wow, I just realized I really slacked on my skin care last month. Normally I do at least a sheet mask a week. I’m going to try to improve for July! The Face Shop makes great affordable masks and I really enjoyed this lotus one. It was very hydrating!

Joe Fresh Exfoliating Cotton Pads
Never, and I mean NEVER, will I buy these ever again! They are everything I hate in a cotton pad! They fall apart within seconds of using them! I got little cotton pieces in my eyeballs and all over my fingers. Ugh. Just awful. The worst part is that I’ve used this brand before so when I was at the store and these exfoliating ones were the only version available, I picked them up thinking they’d be great. And I thought it was cool that they were textured for extra exfoliation! But nope. The regular Joe Fresh 100% Cotton Pads are excellent. Now I know to never stray from the regular version!!

Fresh Sugar Lip Nourishing Lip Balm Advanced Therapy
Ooh I loved this lip balm! It made my lips feel so smooth! It’s quite thick and balmy but not in a bad way. It also has a really nice sweet scent. You know what else it has? A $37 price tag! So I will just have to fondly reminisce about old times together while I use my $3 lip balm!

Jamberry Nourish Moisturizing Hand Creme
My sister sells Jamberry so she gave me this sample. I really liked it! It’s pretty thick but then it surprisingly absorbs super quickly. It has Argan oil in it which I like. I find it very moisturizing! I’m not in need of new hand creams anytime soon, but I would buy it from her in the future.

img_7157

Dove Shower Foam Foaming Body Wash
Here I have the “cucumber & green tea” scent and the “deep moisture” version which basically has Dove’s signature scent. They both smell so good! One of these I actually used as a body wash and then the other, I ended up using as hand soap in my bathroom.Β  XD I really liked it as hand soap because I love those foaming soaps from Bath & Body Works but they dry out my skin so badly. This Dove shower foam was perfect for my hands! I think I will buy this from now on and just use it as hand soap. It was nice as a body wash too.

Softsoap Citrus Splash & Berry Fusion Moisturizing Body Wash
This is one of my favourite body washes to use simply for the heavenly scent! If I could choose two favourite scents, I am going to say citrus and I’m going to say berry. So fuse them together and we have the best scent ever!Β  XD It also contains moisture beads for light exfoliation. I like how it lathers and I’ll definitely buy it again.

And there we have it! Another month of empties down! Have you tried any of these products? What are your thoughts? I’d love to know! What did you finish up last month? Let me know in the comments!

xoxo, Tigritsa

8 thoughts on “The One with the June 2017 Empties

  1. Whoa! You finished off so many items! I know some are from may but still impressive!

    We both be have similar taste in mascara and liner because I have about 80% of the same stuff you do. I really like curve mascara brushes too! I think it actually helps curling my car lashes. I’d try the roller lash by Benefit if you have the chance- I like that one better than their real.

    I also love Stila liner except I prefer a brush tip which is why I love Kat Von d liner! I think the Stila formula is amazing so it won’t go to long out of my collection.

    Caudalie has some hits and misses for me. I either really love a product or not.

    Like

    1. I actually really like the Roller Lash too! It’s been a long time since I used it last but I remember loving the brush!

      I agree about the Stila. I like the formula of it better than the KVD. For me, it always lasted longer and looked blacker! But I definitely realized a brush tip is easier for me to use!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! You got through a lot of products πŸ™‚ I love empty posts! It’s a bummer that the Tarteist mascara flaked and smudged for you – it’s been working well for me so far. I adore the Stila eyeliner though! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

