empties · reviews

The One with the Empties May 2017

Hello and welcome back! It’s that time again! I’ve been trying to post this for a couple of days now but things kept coming up. So while I’m a few days late, here is my empties post for May! I was able to use up a lot of products and samples yet again!

As I’m writing this post, I realized I forgot to include a few makeup products in my pictures. I don’t want to retake the photos so I’ll include them in next month’s post! I also want to apologize for the poor lighting for the photos. As a night shift worker, I pretty much rely on days off to utilize the daylight (since I’m normally sleeping during daylight) but with these rainy and overcast days, it’s been quite difficult! So I had to settle for lousy lighting!


Laneige Water Bank Moisture Cream
This moisturizer is super hydrating, it doesn’t feel heavy on the skin, it has a nice fresh scent, and it plays well with other products and under makeup! I really love this cream. I would like to try the gel cream version of this sometime in the future since I’ve been hearing a lot about gel creams being better for oily skin.  🙂

Clinique Moisture Surge Intense Skin Fortifying Hydrator
Speaking of gel creams…  😉 I loved this cream as well! It was very moisturizing on my skin! It did have a bit of a stick to it which wasn’t the best look when going bare faced (because it looked a little shiny) but under makeup, it was awesome. It gave that nice tackiness so it acted as a primer. There is another version of this that I want to try. It’s more for oily skin and is called “Extended Thirst Relief,” which I’m lucky to have a sample of!

Miracle 10 AHA Cream
This is another great moisturizing cream! I have a couple more sample sizes of it, too! It’s an exfoliating cream so it gently exfoliates using Alpha Hydroxy Acid. It does not irritate the skin! My skin looked amazing and glowing in the morning after using this!

Pur-lisse Pur-Eye Adore Quadra Benefit Eye Serum
This is the old version of their Blue Lotus 4 in 1 Eye Adore eye serum. As far as I can tell, it’s the same formula (same ingredient list) but it was repackaged. I snagged this for $10 CAD (regular $64 USD) from Generation Beauty last year! It’s my favourite eye serum! I haven’t found anything I like as much as it so far.


The Body Shop Camomile Gentle Eye Makeup Remover
I’m not a big fan of this eye makeup remover. I bought the waterproof version last year and it was excellent. I will vouch for that one! But this “gentle” version stung my eyes, whereas the waterproof version did not. I would have thought it would be the other way around. I do have sensitive eyes though so keep that in mind if you’re considering buying this.  🙂

Skin Laundry Restoring Night Serum
This is an anti-aging serum! I used it before my moisturizer every night. It lasted quite awhile but I’m not sure if I’d buy a full size since it’s obviously expensive. I liked that it absorbed quickly. It does have that smell that some anti-aging products can have. It’s tolerable but it’s not like you smell it and you’re in heaven!  XD

The Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Mattifying Toner
This was a decent sized sample that I got in conjunction with the tea tree cleanser. I liked this toner. I felt like it was fighting the bacteria on my face and helped keep my acne at bay. I didn’t find it drying either which can happen with acne products. The tea tree scent isn’t as strong as straight up tea tree oil but is still there, lingering! I don’t mind it, though. I would probably buy a full size of this.


Gorge* I’ll Make You Look Amazing Daily Spray
I’ve reviewed this before in previous empties posts! So to keep it short, this stuff is exactly what it says – amazing! It’s a leave in conditioner spray that protects hair from heat damage, adds shine, prevents frizz, and all those good things. My hair looks and feels so sleek and soft after using this!

John Frieda Beach Blonde Kelp Help Deep Conditioning Masque
This was a great Dollarama find! I liked this conditioner but I didn’t love it. When I use a deep conditioner, I’m expecting it to WOW me. I want it to be better than a standard conditioner. So I always compare hair masks to the Sheer Blonde Hi Impact Restoring Conditioner also from John Frieda. That’s one of the best conditioners I’ve ever used, period. This hair mask wasn’t as good. It wasn’t bad by any means but I guess I have high standards!  XD

Beauty Protector Protect & Oil
I’ve had this since the Birchbox Canada days! I really miss that subscription. Beauty Protector’s leave in conditioner is fantastic. But if you’re looking for an oil version instead, this is really good, too! It has so many benefits and it’s so lightweight in the hair! I avoid using this in my roots but my ends just love it. My hair is left so silky!


Batiste Instant Hair Refresh Dry Shampoo
Big surprise, another Batiste bottle done! This is always in my empties so to keep it short, it gives my oily roots a boost, it makes my hair look clean and fresh, it adds texture to make styling easier, etc. Check it out if you haven’t already!

Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo
Another product that I’ve had many empties of. It’s a good dry shampoo. It refreshes my hair for sure, but I’ll always choose Batiste over this one because I find the Amika doesn’t do anything for volume. My hair looks so flat still after using it.

Cake The ‘Do Gooder Volumizing Dry Shampoo Spray
I was expecting to love the smell of this. Spoiler alert: I didn’t! It says it’s supposed to smell like vanilla and caramelized sugar but… it doesn’t. I wish I knew what I could compare it to but it smells awful to me. The formula itself is very nice! It doesn’t leave a white cast which I know is great for all you lovely dark haired ladies! I don’t think I’d buy this again simply based on the scent.

Fresh Soy Face Cleanser
I’m in love with this stuff! First of all, the smell is just to die for. It’s such a refreshing cucumber scent! But it’s also a great cleanser! I like how well it lathers on my face and that it doesn’t dry out my skin. It also helps reduce the redness in my face which I find important in a cleanser. This stuff is expensive but luckily I have a few more deluxe samples of it!

Elizabeth Grant Green Power C Hydrating Cleanser
This is another good cleanser. The pros are the scent, it didn’t dry my skin out, and it reduced redness. The con is that I found it difficult to get a good lather going. I had to use a lot of product to get it to reach all corners of my face. That’s really it’s only downfall but I don’t think I’d repurchase it because of that.

Derma E Microdermabrasion Scrub
This stuff is so nice! If you like citrus smells, this is for you! I just wanted to smell it the entire time I was using it. It’s a very gentle scrub and it left my skin feeling so bright and radiant. I didn’t know they sold this brand at Walmart but I saw it the other day so I’m sure it’s decently priced, too!


Secret Clear Gel Antiperspirant/Deodorant
I decided to try a clear gel because I’m having a hard time finding a replacement for my beloved Secret smooth solid.  😦 I’ve tried clear gels in the past and didn’t like them but I thought maybe they’ve improved. I guess I gave it a fair shot because I used the whole thing and I still don’t like it! I don’t like the sticky feeling they leave and how it takes a bit of time for it to dry down. I also found it left white marks in my arm pits. This “classic cocoa butter” scent smells amazing though, I’ll give it that!

Dove Dry Spray Antiperspirant
This is a very interesting product. I’ve never used a dry spray deodorant prior to this. I kind of liked this… but there are a few reasons I wouldn’t repurchase. One, the “soothing chamomile scent” was too overpowering for me. Two, I felt like the spray leftover in the air after using it was coating my lungs even when holding my breath and running from the room. I figure that can’t be healthy… As far as performance, I feel like it held up. I used it in April and May though so I’m not sure if it’d be a good summer deodorant or not. I also didn’t get any white residue which was nice.

Nature by Canus Olive Oil + Wheat Proteins Goat’s Milk Soap
This soap is great! I’m not a big fan of bar soaps mainly because all the ones I ever tried in my childhood dried out my skin big time. But lately I’ve found some really nice ones. First the Cerave bar soap and now this one. It feels very nice on the hands and doesn’t dry them out! I may pick up another for my bathroom sink!


The Face Shop Sheet Masks
I used up three sheet masks from The Face Shop in May. They were: Açaí, Cucumber and Lily. I really enjoyed the Açaí and Lily ones but the Cucumber one I wasn’t a big fan of. Not that it wasn’t moisturizing and brightening like all Face Shop masks are, but because it was just too huge on my face and very slippy. I didn’t feel like it stuck very well. It’s the only one from The Face Shop I’ve ever had a big enough problem with to say I wouldn’t buy that one again.

Skin Republic CoQ10 + Caviar Face Sheet Mask
This mask is excellent! I find it very high quality. It stuck to my skin so well and the fit was pretty good too. I also found that my skin looked so radiant and firm after using it, as well as moisturized. I will buy more of these, for sure!

Garnier SkinActive Moisture Bomb Sheet Mask
I didn’t have high expectations for this mask but I really enjoyed it! It felt very high quality as well which I didn’t expect for a drug store brand. It stuck to my face so nicely and you’re able to shape it to fit better. It lives up to it’s moisture bomb name and is very hydrating, and left my skin radiant! I’ll buy more!

Biolage Raw Recover Shampoo & Conditioner
I wasn’t blown away by this shampoo sample. It was difficult to work through my hair. As always, it’s hard for me to use these shampoo samples because I have extremely long hair. There’s never enough in there for me! The conditioner was nice. I felt like it left my hair soft, shiny, and detangled.

Verb Hydrating Shampoo & Conditioner
I found this shampoo a lot easier to work through my hair than the Biolage but I still had trouble. I’m seriously considering cutting my hair because it’s so much work lately!  XD The conditioner was very nice! I found it very hydrating and my hair was nice and soft!

Burt’s Bees Cleansing Oil with Coconut & Argan Oils
I love this cleansing oil! I had the full size version and loved it. Right now I am using The Body Shop’s version but using this sample reminded me how great the Burt’s Bees one is! It removes makeup like a dream. So smooth and easy! And it feels great on the skin!

The Body Shop Ethiopian Honey Deep Nourishing Mask
This is an old sample I had that I found laying around. I used it a few months ago so my memory could be foggy but I found it very nourishing. It was sticky because of the honey, of course.

Fresh Soy Conditioning Eye Makeup Remover & Soy Face Cleanser
This is the first Fresh product that does not agree with me! It stung my eyes so bad! This is one of those cream type makeup removers rather than a liquid. I think it did a fine job of removing eye makeup but I obviously wouldn’t be able to use it again! The soy face cleanser I reviewed above! *points up*

Farmacy Eye Dew Total Eye Cream
I always wanted to try something from this company! I like the way their packaging looks! This eye cream was nice because it was hydrating and firming but I wouldn’t buy it because it left my eye area a bit too tacky for my liking.

Ren Flash Hydro-Boost Instant Plumping Emulsion
This is an interesting product because you apply the cream on your face and then wet your fingers and massage the product into your skin until it is fully absorbed. I really liked this as it was super hydrating and nice on the skin. It says to apply it before moisturizer. Normally I apply serum also but I’m just not sure if the water would take it away at all, considering wetting products is not a normal step. But applying serum after an emulsion might not allow it to penetrate the skin as deeply. So I’m a little unsure about all that and wouldn’t purchase this emulsion since I can get others that are less confusing.


Bath & Body Works Scented Candle
This candle is “Snowflakes & Citrus” and it smells, as you guessed, like citrus! I’m not sure what a snowflake smells like so I don’t know about that part.  😛 The exact scents are frozen lemon peel, fresh squeezed tangerine, winter white mango, and sugared snow crystals.

Another month of empties done! Let me know if you’ve tried any of these products and how they worked for you! Have an amazing weekend, my friends!

xoxo, Tigritsa

One thought on “The One with the Empties May 2017

  1. Great empties! You got through quite a bit last month!!
    I have same same little bottle of Chamomile eye makeup remover and I don’t think it’s that great either. The cleansing butter is my stand out fave from that line.

    I had a sample of the Fresh cleanser and I LOVED it, I need to get it again! Your post totally reminded me to get it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

