sephora, shopping

The One with the Sephora Haul May 2017

Hello beauties! I hope all is well with you! I’ve come down with a cold that I caught from my son who no doubt picked it up at school. Oh the joys of kindergarten! Luckily it’s very mild so far! I can’t believe it’s June already. Our warm days have been few and far between here in Ontario so I hope it warms up real soon and stays that way!!

So I spent way more at Sephora this month than I planned to but I kept seeing things pop up, whether it was on sale or new, that I was like “I need this!!” And there were so many good bonus codes this month too.


These were 3 separate mini orders within the span of a week. I’m pretty sure the Canada Post guy is sick of seeing me by now.  XD And thanks to these orders, I’ve renewed my VIB status for 2018… last year, it took me almost a full year to reach VIB… O_O


Youth to the People Cleanser + Cream Youth Duo Mini
This has been on my loves list for awhile but it’s always been out of stock. I’m always curious about cheap age prevention skin care products at Sephora. When I saw it was back in stock, I decided to order it. This duo includes 1 oz of the Kale + Spinach + Green Tea Superfood Cleanser and 0.5 oz of the Kale + Spinach+ Hyaluronic Acid Superfood Cream.

Both products are packed with antioxidant-rich kale, spinach, green tea, and alfalfa. They protect against environmental stresses, give your skin a glow and prevent redness. This company is 100% vegan, uses cold pressed extracts, and is against animal testing! Their products are also made in small batches to ensure their freshness, which is potentially why this duo was out of stock for awhile. The packaging is great. I love the simple yet modern look. The containers are made of glass, not plastic.

I didn’t do my research beforehand but it’s actually not a great deal to buy the products in this duo. The cleanser is worth $4.50 and the cream is worth $12. I paid $25… I suppose the positive is that I get to try new products that I otherwise wouldn’t try, because I’m not about to drop $36 or $48 on products I’ve never tried before.

Check it out from Sephora here.


Urban Decay All Day All Night Travel Duo
This is another item that was always out of stock when I wanted to place an order! I scooped it up when I saw it came back in stock. It comes with the travel size versions (1 oz each) of the Quick Fix Complexion Prep Priming Spray and All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray.

I’ve never tried the All Nighter setting spray before; only their De-Slick Oil Control one. Since I got the exact same results using the L’oreal Infallible setting spray as I did the De-Slicking one, I decided the Urban Decay wasn’t worth the extra money. But, curiosity got the best of me and I wanted to see for myself if the All Nighter would provide the same or better results. As always, it’s best to buy a travel size before committing to a full size!

I also get to try the Prep Priming Spray which I believe is new. It’s supposed to reduce the look of pores, brighten and smooth skin, and replace lost moisture. I thought this looked interesting! I know Tati reviewed it on her channel and she wasn’t a big fan! But hey, I’m a sucker for a cheap travel duo, what can I say! It’s a good deal. They cost $18 a piece to buy separately.

Check it out at Sephora here.


Sephora Collection Cloud Cover Large Powder Puff
This is one of those items that I had saved in my loves list for when I needed something extra to get to the $50 free shipping mark! I wanted a powder puff for applying my loose powder. I’ve never used one before and I always see YouTubers using them. I was really shocked when I pulled it out of it’s package and felt how soft it is! It’s like velvety smooth! I think “cloud” is the perfect name for it. I can’t wait to give it a try. It cost $13!

Check it out at Sephora here.

Tarte Not So Slick Oil-Absorbing Blotting Papers
These were in the sale section for $8, down from $13. They aren’t available to buy anymore. I’m not sure if they are completely discontinued or if they are repackaging, or what. I have oily skin so I thought I should give these a shot. A few years back, I tried blotting papers from the drug store. They left my skin bumpy the next day, every time after using them. After that pack, I never bought blotting papers again, even if my makeup could really benefit from using them! I’m hoping for better results with these higher end ones!

The Estée Edit Pore Vanishing Stick
I don’t know what is going on with this brand but I think all their products are in the sale section. This could possibly mean the line is being discontinued or maybe they are just getting rid of it at Sephora? I haven’t heard anything as of yet.

One YouTuber that I really trust is in love with this product. Her username is Drea CN or you can click here to check her out. She’s an up and coming channel but growing very steadily! She posts in a Facebook group with me, which is how I discovered her channel. She’s very down to earth and gives very helpful reviews. She has oily skin, like me, so I find a lot of things she recommends or doesn’t recommend to be very accurate for me!

Which brings me to this pore filling stick. It’s basically a lazy man’s Porefessional. It gives the same smooth results but with a unique application. It’s also great for multi-priming. You can swipe this through your T-zone where usually the larger pores are, and then use a more tacky primer for the rest of your face. So I can’t wait to try this out! Apparently it lasts a long time, too. It cost $24, down from $34.

Check it out at Sephora here.

The Estée Edit Inside Track Eye Kajal
This product went fast so I’m glad I picked it up right away. There are 4 duo shades available, and I purchased the “Bold Bordeaux/Urban Nude” one. There is currently only one shade left on the website.

This product was also raved about by Drea CN. After being able to swatch it myself, I see why! They are sooooo creamy and pigmented. She uses the nude side for her waterline which is what I wanted it for, also. I have extremely watery eyes and nothing really lasts in my waterline – this one is supposed to and it works for Drea. I have a Sephora Collection nude eyeliner that was just too stiff, and not enough pigment, and it was just horrible. This Estée Edit one really puts it to shame and is everything I was looking for in an eyeliner for the waterline!

This cost $18, down from $26.

Check it out at Sephora here.

Sephora Favourites Ultimate Travel Kit
Every so often, I like to search “Sephora Favorites” on the website and see if anything new has popped up. This “Beauty of the Fly” travel kit got me all excited! Everything in here is so perfect for a trip! I actually have a trip to Toronto coming up at the end of June (Generation Beauty, here I come again!). Many of these products will be coming with me!


This set includes 10 travel size products and it cost $40! Below I will list what is included in the set, their values, and my thoughts.

  • Clinique Pep-Start Hydroblur Moisturizer$5.51 value – This is a product I’ve been interested to try since it was released. It gives “matte moisturization” which sounds very appealing to me! It helps smooth pores and imperfections. To me, it comes across as a primer type moisturizer.
  • Sunday Riley Luna Sleeping Night Oil$22.50 value – This is actually scary to me. I have heard such great things about this product. It’s a retinol oil designed to improve wrinkles, redness and pores. But it is expensive. Like, $135 for 1 oz expensive! I’m afraid I will fall in love, haha.
  • Sol de Janeiro Brazilian Bum Bum Cream$5.70 value – I own a full size of this. I just started using it last night, actually. It smells incredible! It feels very luxurious on the skin and absorbs quickly. It’s supposed to improve cellulite on your bum bum! I’ll keep you posted if it works!  😉
  • Lavanila Sport Luxe Deodorant$11 value – This deodorant is notable because it is aluminum-free. I haven’t had much luck with those types of deodorants from the drug store so while I am skeptical, I’m hoping this stuff will do the trick! If anything, I can see myself saving this for winter when I’m not worried about the heat and sweat!
  • Verb Hydrating Shampoo $9 value – This shampoo hydrates, preserves colour and protects from heat. I used a sample of it recently but it was too tiny for my long hair to get a good feel for it. I’m excited to try a travel size so I can actually use the amount I need without struggling to work it through my hair.
  • Verb Hydrating Conditioner $9 value – This conditioner provides intense moisture and natural shine! Along with the shampoo sample, I tried this conditioner sample. The conditioner I got a way better feel for because I had enough for my hair. I honestly really loved it! It came through on it’s claims. My hair felt wonderful afterwards!
  • Fresh Soy Face Cleanser$6.27 value – This cleanser seems to come in a lot of Sephora Favourites sets. I personally love this cleanser so it’s nice to keep getting deluxe samples so I don’t have to shell out the $47 for a full size! It smells like cucumbers, lathers so well, and doesn’t dry out my skin. It’s awesome!
  • Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil$5.40 value – I have another sample of this. I’m working on a full size oil so hopefully this one will be in my rotation soon. It’s supposed to be great for acne prone skin, as well as hydrating and anti-aging!
  • Algenist Complete Eye Renewal Balm $37.33 value – Another expensive product that I’m afraid to fall in love with! It is for fine lines and wrinkles, as well as hydrating, soothing and nourishing the eye area. I’m always in the need of eye creams so I’m excited to try this.
  • Caudalie Beauty Elixir $22 value – This is another product that seems to be in a lot of Sephora Favourites sets. It’s described as a toning mist to set makeup, tighten pores, and increase radiance. It can also be used as a priming base!

I’m very happy with all 10 products that were included in this set! It’s like a complete beauty routine which is neat. I also love the plastic bag it comes with! It’s so perfect for travel in case of spills.

The total value of this bag is $133.71 CAD. I paid only $40 for this! That is a steal, in my opinion. Especially when there is not a single thing in this set that I can’t or won’t use. It’s all stuff right up my alley!

Check it out at Sephora here.

What would shopping at Sephora be without the free samples? It’s such a big perk! Because I did 3 separate orders, I got quite a few samples.


First, I used the code LIVE4LIPS to get a mini of the Sephora Collection Cream Lip Stain. I chose the colour “Pink Tea.” Next, I used the code UNDERCOVER to get a sample of Benefit’s new Porefessional Pore Minimizing Makeup in the shade “light.” Lastly, I used the code SMELLTHESE to get a handful of perfume samples as well as a Ciaté London Liquid Velvet Moisturizing Matte Liquid Lipstick in the shade “Bitter Sweet.”


The perfumes included in the SMELLTHESE code are: Nest Indigo, Atelier Cologne Orange Sanguine Cologne Absolue Pure Perfume, Maison Margiela ’REPLICA’ Fantasies: Dancing On the Moon, Clean Reserve Citron Fig, and Tocca Giulietta. 4 out of 5 come in a little spray tube which I’m more likely to use then the ones that don’t!


And of course, my free foil samples are: Clinique Smart Custom-Repair Serum, Algenist POWER Advanced Wrinkle Fighter 360° Eye Serum, Laneige Water Bank Ultra Moisture Cream, DevaCurl Buildup Buster Gentle Deep Cleansing Serum, Consonant Ultra Firming Organic Eye Cream x 2, Clinique Pep-Start 2-in-1 Exfoliating Cleanser, L’Occitane Immortelle Divine Youth Oil, and Algenist SPLASH Absolute Hydration Replenishing Sleeping Pack.

Lots of great skin care samples to try out!

That’s it for my Sephora haul in May. Hopefully I can cool it for awhile but I usually last about a month and then give in, so we’ll see!  XD I wish you luck if you struggle with resisting like I do!

xoxo, Tigritsa

12 thoughts on “The One with the Sephora Haul May 2017”

    1. I rarely go in the Sephora in my town! I always order online. I love the extra goodies! And thank you – I wondered if anyone would catch on that my post titles are a play on Friends episode titles! XD It’s my favourite show!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh you’re in the UK! That explains a lot haha. That’s how I feel about Ulta and the States! They just started shipping to Canada very recently but it’s too expensive and then there are duties and whatnot!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This haul looks fantastic. The blotting sheets have to become a part of my collection. You have a wonderful writing style. Just stumbled upon your blog today and I’m in love. Liked and subscribed.
Check out my blog sometime?
    
Have a good day!
Mena from noirerewritten 🌷

    Like

Leave a Reply

