ipsy, subscription boxes, unboxing

The One with the Ipsy May 2017 Glam Bag

Hello everyone and welcome back!

This month’s Ipsy bag is super cute! I love that it’s a clear plastic because that means it’s great for travel with liquids. But the added popsicles and ice cream cones make it even better. My bag doesn’t want to zip all the way shut, though. Hopefully others aren’t having the same problem!


I’m not blown away by my bag contents this month. I was getting great bags for quite a few months in a row and now I seem to be getting all stuff that I’ve rated really low – bronzers, brows, hair stuff, eyeliner… but I still keep getting it! Where’s the skin care at?! Lip balms? Eyeshadows? Blush? I always rate those products high. I thought their rating system and new survey had improved the bag personalization but not so much (for me) lately.

What is it? Ipsy Glam Bag
How much is it? $10 USD per month or $110 USD yearly
Ships to? Canada & US
Shipping costs? $4.95 USD per month; Free for US
What’s inside? 5 deluxe sample or full size beauty products, plus a makeup bag

Pure Brazilian Shine Ultra Light Nourishing Oil
This hair oil seems like it will be great. It combines Camellia Oil, Abyssinian Oil, seaweed and Vitamin E to add shine and prevent frizz. It is 100% vegan and also has colour and heat protection. I use hair oils or serums after every wash so I’m not mad at getting this. I think it smells great and will be effective but I have been rating hair items low because I don’t want to receive them so often anymore. I just have a huge stash at the moment that only seems to be getting bigger, not smaller!  XD
Retail Value: $4.46 CAD for 15 ml (full size is $35.18 for 118 ml)

It Cosmetics Superhero Elastic Stretch Volumizing Mascara
This is by far my favourite item I got this month. It is in the shade “super black” and it claims to give “super volume,” “super length,” and “super elastic stretch.” I have high hopes for this mascara! I love the Touch in Sol Stretchex mascara because it really felt like my lashes were being stretched. So I’m hoping this is similar to that one but the Stretchex really gave no volume while this It Cosmetics one is supposed to.

On a side note, I have meant business lately when it comes to my mascara stash! My general rule is to use my mascara until it is at the end of it’s life! But lately, I have strayed from that and I’ve been quitting mascaras left and right. I just want long, separated lashes and some mascaras just aren’t doing that for me so I decided there is no point in forcing myself to use products I just don’t like. So while my stash is still a decent size, I have been going through them a lot faster. More mascara works for me!
Retail Value: $18.03 CAD for 5 ml (full size is $32.46 for 9 ml)

Pixi by Petra Endless Silky Eye Pen
Hello more black eyeliner! I must sound like a broken record for every unboxing post I get – so many black eyeliners! I said to myself when I saw the glam bag reveal that the one thing that could “save” my bag was if I got the eyeliner in the beautiful “OpalOvercoat” shade. It would have been perfect for me on my lower lash line. *sigh* I might try to trade for it. As far as formula, it all sounds great – no tugging, waterproof, super silky and pigmented, etc.
Retail Value: $14.16 CAD for 0.8 g (full size is $21.24 for 1.2 g)

Benefit Gimme Brow Volumizing Fiber Gel
I might be one of the few makeup-loving girls who don’t bother with her brows. I’m lucky that they are full and dark enough, and have a pretty nice shape (when I decide to keep up on them lol). I’ve been sent brow products from Ipsy before and I always rate them as low as possible so it’s disappointing to get another one. I’ve always said I would love to try doing them someday but I just never do. I really need to stick to that and actually try it – maybe I’ll end up loving it, who knows.
Retail Value: $10.67 CAD for 1 g (full size is $32 for 3 g)

Manna Kadar Radiance Split Pan Bronzer and Highlighter Duo
Ughhhh, Ipsy, you’re killing me with the bronzers! Even highlighters, I’ve got my fair share of from them. There is absolutely no way I could use this shade for bronzer, anyway. It’s much too dark for my skin and it’s very shimmery which I do not like for bronzer. The only way I would use it would be for eyeshadow but it’s really not pigmented enough for me to want to use it as eyeshadow! The highlight side is actually very pretty so I might give that a whirl.
Retail Value: $28.41 CAD for 3 g (full size)

Total Retail Value: $75.73 CAD

POINTS ITEM: Estée Lauder Double Wear To Go Liquid Compact
This is a $50 CAD foundation on Sephora for the same size! I redeemed 750 points for this in the shade “1N2 Ecru.” It turned out to be too yellow for me even though I thought the “N” stands for neutral. I guess I am more cool toned than I thought. I’d rate the foundation itself as good. I have read this is not the same formula as the regular Double Wear. It is a little dewier than I normally like but that is fixed with my mattifying powder. The coverage is only medium. It also lasted a super hot and long day for me so it gets points there as well.

Final Thoughts? I might be being picky but I’m underwhelmed by my Ipsy bag this month. I love that we get the chance to personalize our bags but it seems like it’s not really working in my favour lately. I hate to rate things 1 star, and “dislike” and all that, but I have been for bronzers, brows, etc. Just because I don’t want anymore! But it seems like the things I’m rating low, I get more of, and the things I’m saying I love, I’m not getting any of. So something with the customization isn’t working for my bag!

I don’t like being super negative and I do try to find the positives in life so I want to say some good things, too. What did I like about this month’s bag? The Superhero mascara looks amazing, the hair oil I am sure will be great, the bag design is a total win for me, and the highlighter side of the Manna Kadar shows promise. I’m also sure the Pixi eyeliner will be good as far as formula goes.

Here’s hoping for a better June bag!

xoxo, Tigritsa

10 thoughts on “The One with the Ipsy May 2017 Glam Bag”

  1. I love the bag this month! It’s so cute. I got some nice items but like you it was a bit underwhelming. I think Im just finding the same brands over and over in my bags similar to how you keep getting black eyeliner! Lol!

    Like

  2. I actually ordered the Pixi eyeliner in Opal Overcoat since it doesn’t seem to be available in Toronto at the moment. I received the Black one, too! It’s beautiful! I really like it! I’m using the black liner over others as well. Don’t discount the Mannakadar bronzer, it’s much lighter than it looks. I had to build it up, and I’m pretty ghostly pale. It’s in my preferred bin, now. I was surprised, too! 😁

    Like

    1. I ended up getting the Opal one from a fb group and it’s so perfect for my lower lash line! Other than the colour, the other thing I didn’t like about the Manna Kadar is how shimmery it is! It will work better as an eyeshadow for me! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

