subscription boxes · topbox · unboxing

The One with the Topbox May 2017 Box

All of my subscriptions have come in over the last 2 days so it’s a super exciting time for me.Β  πŸ˜„ Sometimes I wish they would come more spread out throughout the month because then the excitement could last all month long!


Topbox is pretty good for me this month! I’m usually happy with my Topbox since it’s so cheap! I got 5 items plus a complimentary item so I really can’t be upset with that!

What is it? Topbox
How much is it? $12 CAD per month (plus tax)
Ships to? Canada
Shipping costs? Free
What’s inside? 4 deluxe sample or full size beauty products

Pureology Serious Colour Care Fullfyl Shampoo + Conditioner
It’s always nice that Topbox will send out the conditioner to go with the shampoo and vice versa. You really get a feel for the line when you can try both at the same time. These are for colour treated hair, which I have, so that’s perfect. I think it might also be volumizing because it says it’s for “density and texture” and it looks and feels like more hair with use of the system (shampoo, conditioner and a densifying spray). They are 100% vegan which is cool and they smell pretty. I’m looking forward to giving these a whirl!
Retail Value: $7.57 CAD for 50 ml for shampoo (full size is $37.85 for 250 ml) / $8.11 CAD for 50 ml for conditioner (full size is $40.55 for 250 ml)

Pur-lisse Prevent Blue Lotus + Seaweed Treatment Sheet Mask
This is a mask that I have received a million times from various subscription boxes, beauty kits, etc. although it has been awhile since I got one. My last one was indeed from Topbox but I really like them so I don’t mind getting more. Pur-lisse has two different types, both of which I’ve used, but I don’t remember much difference between them. They both felt very moisturizing and brightening.
Retail Value: $10.82 CAD (full size)

China Glaze Nail Lacquer
This is in the shade “My Sweet Lady.” I don’t know what it is about light pink nail polish but it’s just not for me. I love the colour pink so I don’t know why but I just don’t gravitate towards this shade of nail colour. I might try using it as an accent nail colour to see if I like it used in that way!
Retail Value: $8.25 CAD (full size)

Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief
I just finished up a little jar like this and I thought it was the same product but it was actually the Clinique Moisture Surge Intense Skin Fortifying Hydrator. I really liked that stuff and you’ll see it in my next empties post! The two products seem very similar so I think I’ll like this one, too. They’re both a cream-gel consistency but this one actually seems more appropriate for my skin type. Sephora includes oily and combination under the skin types it’s good for.
Retail Value: $6.44 CAD for 7 ml (full size is $46 for 50 ml)

Total Retail Value: $41.19 CAD

Bonus Item: Colgate Optic White Toothbrush + Built-in Whitening Pen
Topbox has been awesome for sending out complimentary items with our boxes lately! This is the third month in a row. I’ve used this toothbrush for 2 days now. The whitening pen is very cool! It’s easy to use and I’m noticing a difference already. My only issue with this bonus is that it expires this June. I imagine that is why they sent this batch out as free samples and I can’t complain because it was indeed free. But I thought I would let you guys know to use it up ASAP! Even if I don’t get to finish it up by the end of the month, at least I got to try it for free and now I know I like it so I can buy one myself in store.Β  πŸ™‚

Final Thoughts? It’s funny because when I first look at the retail value, it seems low but then I have to shake my head because it’s actually more than 3 times what I paid! So when you think of it that way, it puts it into perspective. I think I’m so used to seeing around a $60-$70 value from Ipsy but I have to remember that Ipsy also costs more.

I think I got a really good bag this month! I get to try a new shampoo/conditioner, I got a sheet mask that I know I love and will use, and I got a new moisturizer that I’m really excited to try. The only miss is the nail polish but that’s only because of my preference of colours. And I got a bonus item so that makes up for it!

I can’t wait to start seeing your Topbox unboxing posts! Until then…

xoxo, Tigritsa

Save

4 thoughts on “The One with the Topbox May 2017 Box

Leave a Reply

