the kit · topbox · unboxing

The One with The Kit’s Beauty Desk Spring Edition 2017

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Hello beauties! I hope you had a lovely weekend! Mine was great since I didn’t have to work!  XD I got to celebrate my dad’s 70th birthday on Saturday and of course, I got to celebrate my mom and myself for Mother’s Day!

About a week ago, I won a giveaway on Instagram! If you follow Topbox, you’ll know that they always have great giveaways. I try to always enter them if I see them pop up but I never expected to actually win one!


I won their Beauty Desk Spring Edition box from The Kit! It was fantastic timing because I wanted to buy this box myself and literally the night before I won the contest, I went back and forth wondering if I should or not. It costs $30 CAD for 13 products compared to their Beauty Box May Edition which was $45 for 40 items… so while it’s still a great deal in the long run, I thought it was a little steep considering how much bang for your buck you get with the other box!

I ended up not buying it and I’m glad I didn’t because I got it for free instead! I was really impressed with how fast Topbox shipped it out after I won, too. Let’s take a look at what this box contained!

Darphin INTRAL Redness Relief Soothing Serum
This is the product I wanted to try the most! I have a lot of redness in my skin and I want to see if this helps any. Brightening serums usually help but maybe this will work even better! It’s also non-comedogenic and formulated without parabens, which are bonuses! It’s such a tiny sample, though.  😦 5 ml won’t go very far!
Retail Value: $17.50 CAD for 5 ml (full size is $105 for 30 ml)

Cake The ‘Do Gooder Volumizing Dry Shampoo Spray
I got this in my April Topbox so I’ve already gone through the full bottle. I thought I was going to love the smell because, hello, it’s Cake, they have the best smelling products ever! But I actually hate it. It’s supposed to smell like warm vanilla and caramelized sugar but for me, it doesn’t. I’m not even sure what to compare it to but it’s nothing like their amazing scented creams! The dry shampoo itself, I actually like. If you hate dry shampoos that leave a white cast, this is for you! I can’t say this one works as well as Batiste but it’s passable and I’d use it again (just maybe not buy it myself).
Retail Value: $4.75 CAD for 50 ml (full size is $19 for 200 ml)

Revlon Professional Uniq One All in One Hair Treatment
Scent is one of those make it or break it things about a product. It really can be a deal breaker! This is one of those products. The hair treatment itself is wonderful. It has so many benefits including detangling, frizz control, shine, dry & damaged hair repair, heat protection and more. I just hate the smell! The coconut version of this same hair treatment is amazing and I 100% recommend it! I’ll use this one up anyway but I already plan on buying more of the coconut version.
Retail Value: $1.08 CAD for 9 ml (full size is $18 for 150 ml)

Nature by Canus Olive Oil + Wheat Proteins Goat’s Milk Soap
I have always seen these soaps in store but I’m not really a bar soap person, so I never thought to buy them. I’ve been using it at my sink to wash my hands and it’s so nice! It doesn’t dry my hands out at all, probably thanks to the olive oil and wheat proteins! It also has a really mild scent. I’d actually consider buying more of these if they’re this cheap. The price I found online was in USD and I’m thinking these products were more expensive than this in store, so we will see!
Retail Value: $2.74 CAD (full size)

TheFaceShop Moisturizing Character Mask
This is so cute! The puppy character mask from TheFaceShop is actually the first sheet mask I ever used! I can’t wait to try this one. I’ve used so many sheet masks from this brand that by now I know they follow through on their moisturizing and nourishing promises! The pig face is just an added fun bonus! They don’t have any in stock on their website right now but I remember when I looked a long time ago, they were more expensive than their regular sheet masks (which are $3) so I estimated $4.
Retail Value: $4 CAD (full size)

North American Hemp Co. Face Off Face Wash
This brand is all-natural, cruelty free, vegan, paraben free and they use 100% organic Canadian hemp seed oil! This face wash promises moisturized and more radiant skin! I can always use more face wash and I always enjoy trying products from natural and cruelty free companies!
Retail Value: $1.32 CAD for 15 ml (full size is $12.49 for 142 ml)

SeaRx Birchsap Moisturizing Lotion
This lotion says it is for preventative aging, which is something I look for in my skin care products. It has a light pleasant smell and is non greasy. It smooths and strengthens skin while providing long lasting moisturizing effects. It also claims to provide “a degree” of protection from sunlight but I see nothing about SPF so I’m not sure how that works. I got 4 of these samples but they don’t have a size on the tube. Based on size and comparing it to other skin care products I have, I’m estimating around 5 ml.
Retail Value: $2.74 CAD for 5 ml each (full size is $43.89 for 80 ml)

Bella Aura Skincare Night Cellular Renewal
This is an anti-aging emulsion from a natural Canadian skin care company. I have one of these laying around somewhere from my March Topbox but I haven’t used it yet. I’ve used their face cleanser and I really enjoyed how it made my skin look and feel, but the smell was really strong. I didn’t mind so much since it’s just face wash and it washes away. We will see how it goes with a product that stays on my face!
Retail Value: $36.67 CAD for 10 ml (full size is $110 for 30 ml)

Benefit They’re Real Beyond Mascara
I’m actually using a different tube of this right now. I like this mascara! It’s not my absolute favourite but I’ll always use it again. I find it lengthening and it separates my lashes nicely but I don’t think it gives much volume. The wand is neat because there is a little spiky ball at the tip that helps get your inner lashes. I can also trust this mascara not to flake or smudge.
Retail Value: $10.94 CAD for 3 g (full size is $31 for 8.5 g)

Eyeko Eye Do Liquid Eyeliner
Another product I received in my March Topbox! While I love black liquid liner, I don’t use it enough to warrant owning so many of them!  XD I’m just trying to keep them all closed so I can eventually use them before they dry up. But I won’t be surprised if I open one someday and it’s completely dry before using it.
Retail Value: $17.65 CAD for 1.2 g (full size is $29.42 for 2 g)

Total Retail Value: $107.61

Final Thoughts? Such a great value! Even though it’s time consuming, I love doing the research to calculate the retail value of boxes like this. I’m always curious if my value adds up to the same as Topbox’s claim. Sometimes I think they screw up their estimates because in the past when they’ve sent out cards with product prices, they have the American price of a product mixed in with the Canadian prices. They say this box has an $84+ value! So I calculated a bit more but I also estimated 2 prices. It’s all for fun, anyway. I’m glad I didn’t pay for this box because quite a few products are duplicates of things I already own. I’m most excited for the Darphin serum, the character mask, the SeaRx lotion and the benefit mascara!

9 thoughts on “The One with The Kit’s Beauty Desk Spring Edition 2017

    1. I don’t mind getting duplicates but I worry about being able to use them in time before things going bad! In general, I like to have backups for things before I need them. Otherwise I always realize I’m out of something when it’s too late lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great box! Congrats on winning it! I love they’re real so I never can have enough samples of that and I love the eyeko liner. I know you got a lot of duplicates but luckily it’s for items you’ll use. I always love the kit boxes. It’s so tempting to buy these specially curated mega boxes!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I love the box too. I used to always buy the kit boxes but I’ve been resisting this year because I haven’t gone through half the shampoos and stuff like that from the last one I bought last year lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

