empties · reviews

The One with the Empties April 2017


It’s that time again! I have a lot of empties again for the month of April! I’m always surprised by how many empties I can accumulate! It really gives me a sense of accomplishment knowing that I’m actually using all the things I’m buying – because, let’s face it, I know most of us have huge stashes that are just sitting in the closet! I’m glad I’ve been sticking with this goal ever since starting my empties posts!

Make Up For Ever Sens’Eyes Waterproof Sensitive Eye Cleanser
I was not a fan of this eye makeup remover! It’s for sensitive eyes but it stung mine so bad! I do have sensitive eyes but when it’s made with sensitive eyes in mind and still stings, that’s a fail! I did find that if I used a minuscule amount, it didn’t sting. But then it became a huge task to remove the mascara. This was the first lotion type makeup remover I’ve tried so maybe they are not for me.

Lancôme Hypnôse Drama Instant Full Body Volume Mascara
This is one of my favourite mascaras – at least top 3!! The brush is super unique and it did take some trial and error to figure out how to apply the mascara perfectly. When I got my technique down, I was in love. This is one of those mascaras that gives volume and length and doesn’t clump or flake! I first got this as a sample from Sephora, and now I try to always redeem it for 100 points when it becomes available. I have a hard time spending $30+ on a full size mascara so I’m not sure I’d ever buy it outright, but it is an amazing product.

Cerave Hydrating Cleanser Bar
This was just a free sample from Cerave. I was surprised how much I liked this. I don’t use bar soap normally because I find it very drying but this one is true to it’s name and did not dry my skin out. I didn’t use it on my body but for my hands. I’m not sure how much it is. If it’s a good price, I’d buy it for sure!


Revlon Uniq One Coconut Hair Treatment
This stuff was amazing! Not only did it smell delicious (hello, coconut!) but it made my hair super soft and sleek, it helped fight frizz, was a great detangler and made my ends look much healthier! It has many more benefits including heat protection. It’s actually a very decent price on Amazon.ca so once I’m done using up all my hair treatments, I’ll pick this up for sure!

gorge* I’ll Make You Look Amazing Daily Spray
This is another conditioning spray that has many benefits! Everything I said about the Revlon hair treatment, I can say the same for this spray. The only difference is the price. This one is more expensive for less product. I would purchase it again though if I got a good deal, like through FabFitFun for example!

Living Proof Restore Mask Treatment
This hair mask was disappointing for me. When I use a deep conditioner, I expect my hair to feel extremely soft and silky. This one just did not do that for me. It performed like any old regular conditioner. Actually, my drug store John Frieda conditioners make my hair feel way softer and silkier than this hair mask does so needless to say, I won’t get it again.

Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo
This is a great dry shampoo! This is the mini size and I really don’t get much use from it. I find I only get maybe 5 or 6 uses from this size. But, the product works really well to control grease and make my hair look fresh. The smell is a little strong and it’s not my first choice of scents but it’s not bad, and it does fade. The only downside to this dry shampoo is it doesn’t give any volume. I wouldn’t buy this again since I can just buy Batiste at an affordable price but I wouldn’t say no to more samples!


Ole Henriksen African Red Tea Foaming Cleanser
This is such a good cleanser! It does have a bit of a tea smell but not overwhelmingly so. I find the scent so scrumptious! That was one of my favourite things about using this cleanser but I also loved how it foamed when washing my face. My skin was always left brightened and soft after using this! While I do love it, I wouldn’t buy it again because it’s so expensive but I do have another one from a set somewhere!

Key West Aloe Gentle Aloe Facial Cleanser
This has been in my shower for probably a year now. I was saving it for this upcoming summer because it’s the perfect cleanser to use if you get a sunburn. But because it had been open for so long, I thought I should use the last of it up. It’s 30% aloe so it’s incredibly soothing on the skin. And it smells so darn good. I would like more of this cleanser for summer time but after exchange/shipping, it’s just too expensive for my liking.

Bella Aura Gentle Purifying Cleaner
Ah, I finally got to try the dreaded Bella Aura sample that everyone seems to hate! Surprisingly, I kinda liked it.  😄 I mean, I wouldn’t run out and buy it (especially at the $125 full size price) but I’d use it again if I got a sample. Obviously the reason people don’t like it is because of the awful smell. It really does smell terrible. But it left my skin looking and feeling so bright and smooth! So I can’t complain about it’s performance.

Bioré Baking Soda Pore Cleanser
I only used this sporadically so it took me awhile to use this up. It’s extremely gentle so if your skin is sensitive to exfoliation, this might be a good product for you to try. My skin really did feel extra clean after using this, thanks to the baking soda. I think it’s a good product to have on hand for a deep clean.


Philosophy Renewed Hope in a Jar Refreshing & Refining Moisturizer
I’ve never tried the original Hope in a Jar, but I really liked the “renewed” version! This little sample didn’t go very far but I was able to get 4 or 5 uses out of it. I found this cream very hydrating, it applied well under makeup and it paired well with layering skin products. Obviously it’s on the expensive side, so I probably wouldn’t buy it again.

North American Hemp Co. Linoleic Line Lifting Face Cream
So at the time, I really liked this face cream. It is super moisturizing, smells great, it’s nice and thick so I loved it as a night cream, and my face seemed so much firmer after using. But I was also getting a lot of cystic acne. I’m still not 100% sure if it’s this face cream that caused it or not because sometimes it’s very hard to pinpoint. I just know that I used two of these tubes in a row, and I kept getting new cystic pimples. But it’s been about 2 weeks since I stopped using this and I haven’t had any new ones pop up. So I’m thinking it could be this face cream which is disappointing because I really loved it (and the full size is so affordable at $25!!).

Sahajan Restorative Eye Cream
I didn’t like this eye cream and because of that, the tube seemed to last forever.  😄 I honestly couldn’t wait to finish it. One, I wasn’t a big fan of the scent. However, I can look past that if the product is good. Two, it left my eye area so tight. That would be understandable if it was a retinol cream or one that is designed for fine lines but this eye cream claims to repair dry under eyes. I always had to follow this cream up with my Purlisse Eye Adore serum just to feel hydrated.

NeoStrata SecureWhite Brightening Serum
I’ve used and reviewed this product before. As I said then, I wouldn’t buy this again but it came in a beauty box, so I don’t mind using it up again. It does a good job of brightening the skin but the smell is pretty foul. There are many other brightening serums out there that smell better and perform the same so that is why I wouldn’t buy it.


The Body Shop Vitamin C Microdermabrasion
This was the first exfoliating product I used and the differences I noticed in my skin were instant. It was softer, smoother, brighter, my makeup applied way better, etc. I’ve already repurchased this because I loved it so much! With sales, this product is really inexpensive and this bottle lasted me a year!

Nivea Lip Essential Lip Balm
I go through these so fast. I have 2 for this month!  😄 I think one of them was already half used and I lost it for awhile and then found it. Anyone else constantly losing their lip balm? I know I am. I will always repurchase this! It’s my fave by far.

Cake Heavy Cream Intensive Hand Repair Balm
First of all, the smell is heavenly! It has a warm vanilla scent! If you’ve used their Delectable hand creams, this one is much heavier in consistency as the name suggests. I do find it a bit greasy while waiting for it to soak in but in about 7-8 minutes, that goes away. This is really good if you get really dry hands like I do and need the extra hydration, otherwise I’d just stick with the Delectable.

The Body Shop Tea Tree Blemish Fade Night Lotion
This is another product from The Body Shop that lasted me a year! It’s not something I need to use every night but I like using it when I get bad breakouts. I found this helped with reducing the redness/scarring that acne leaves behind. It’s also very soothing to use during breakouts and helps clear up your face quicker. I’ll definitely be buying this again when a sale comes up!

MaskerAide Spotted! Anti-Blemish Clear Spot Patches
These have been in my empties a lot lately so I’ll just say that I love them! They work great and now I can’t live without them!  😄 I just ordered 2 packs from the MaskerAide website so I’m stocked for awhile. But I just heard the great news that MaskerAide will be coming to select Rexall stores soon!! I’m so happy about that!!

The Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash
This obviously doesn’t smell great because it’s tea tree (which is super strong) but it’s a great acne cleanser. Tea tree oil is really good for acne but it can be very drying. I didn’t find this cleanser to be too drying. It wasn’t hydrating by any means but for an acne fighting cleanser, it left my face feeling comfortable. I like the cooling effect it has and it’s good for oily skin, also. I will buy it again!


The Face Shop Face Masks
I’ve used up their Mung Bean, Blueberry, and Soothing face masks. I enjoyed all 3 of them. As per usual, I find their masks to not fit my face well because they are made for wider faces, but I make it work. My skin is always left very soft, brightened, and hydrated after using these.

Karuna Hydrating+ Face Mask
I got this from my Spring FabFitFun and they are awesome! First of all, the way the face mask is designed, it’s so easy to put it on and make it fit your face! They have cut outs that enable it to fit properly. It’s hard to explain. Secondly, true to their name, they are super hydrating. They are pricey for sheet masks on Sephora but I have seen them at Winners so I’ll probably pick some up from there!

StarSkin Smoothing Bio Cellulose Second Skin Eye Masks
So I’m really disappointed about this because I got this in my March LookFantastic and it came with a hole in it and the serum had leaked out. They were supposed to send me a replacement but they never did. Grrrrr. I’ve emailed them about it and they just ignore me. So a couple weeks ago, I decided to try to use these anyway since I had put the package in a plastic ziploc bag. There was only the tiniest bit of serum left on them. You are supposed to leave these on for 10-15 minutes but because of the lack of serum, I didn’t even get 5 minutes out of it. I thought, well, that was a waste of time but at least I tried. I was surprised though, because even after a couple minutes, I noticed how smoothed out my fine lines looked. And now I really want my replacement even more so because I can just imagine how awesome these are.  😦

Dr. Dennis Gross Alpha Beta Ultra Gentle Daily Peel
These were really nice! I honestly expected my skin to be irritated or react in some way but it didn’t! They are very gentle and left my skin glowing. I just learned recently that exfoliating with acids rather than beads is better for acne prone skin so while these are way over my budget, I’ll definitely have to look for something similar but cheaper!

GlamGlow ThirstyMud Hydrating Treatment
I love this stuff! I always leave it on overnight instead of washing it off. I actually saw the full size of this at Winners for $20 cheaper than Sephora but with my huge stash, I just couldn’t bring myself to buy it. I have so many hydrating masks, anyway. Although this is one of the best I’ve tried, for sure. It leaves your skin hydrated but as someone with oily skin, it didn’t make me too greasy either!


Marc Anthony Macadamia Oil Deep Moisture Body Butter
I’ve had these samples forever and I can’t believe I waited so long to use them. I have fallen in love! Not only does this smell so good but it is sooooo moisturizing! I apply it after a shower and my skin feels incredible for days afterwards, even after showering again (and not using it). It’s super affordable too! I’ll be picking some up after I’m done my other body butters.

Dove Quench Absolute Extra Nourishing Shampoo + Conditioner
My hair is really long so I have a hard time using foil samples of shampoo. There’s never enough in there for my hair. I normally love Dove but these were just okay for me. And it might be because I didn’t have enough shampoo. It just didn’t leave my hair feeling super soft like Dove normally does, and I also didn’t find my curls were more smoothed like it claimed.

Curly Hair Solutions Energizing Shampoo + Conditioner
Again, there wasn’t enough shampoo in this sample for my hair. The problem was that it wouldn’t lather so I needed to keep using more. I hate shampoo that won’t lather. I need to feel the shampoo reach every part of my scalp to feel clean. I liked the smell of this shampoo (sort of minty) and I feel it somewhat defined my curls but it stripped my hair of every bit of moisture and made it feel like straw. The conditioner was alright. Not moisturizing enough to make up for the dryness of the shampoo.

And that’s it for my April empties! Sorry for the crappy lighting in the photos (it’s been so overcast). I hope you enjoyed this post and it provided you with some good feedback for these products! This is one of my favourite monthly posts to write and read! I hope you’re all having a wonderful day! Much love!

xoxo, Tigritsa

9 thoughts on “The One with the Empties April 2017

  1. Great job on the empties! I didn’t finish up so many items this month but you really must have put a good dent in your stash!

    I had no idea people hated the smell of the Bella aura line- is it weird to say I actually like it :/ for me it reminds me of a French perfume my grandma had…. Lol!

    Like

    1. Sadly, this did not dent my stash. 😦 LOL I have way too much stuff and I keep getting more!

      I didn’t like the smell of the Bella Aura but I was definitely expecting it to be worse. I’m in a few FB groups and people seem to hate it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So many empties! I also need to pick up a full size of the Coconut hair spray treatment, I absolutely loved it! Once again, I’m sorry about that Starskin mask!! Darn look fantastic…

    Good job on using so much up 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

