lookfantastic, subscription boxes, unboxing

The One with the LookFantastic March 2017 Box

One surprising thing about this subscription is how quickly I receive it (it comes from the UK). I know my post is late but I actually got my box the first week of March. Lately, it’s always my first box of the month to come in. I’m always nervous because there is no tracking but it always arrives.


I did have one issue with this month’s box. I received one item that had a hole in the package (the eye masks) so the serum leaked all over. Everything was salvageable but the eye masks themselves were unusable without the serum. I e-mailed LF and asked if they could send me a replacement (and I sent pictures of the hole). They replied and asked for a picture of the whole box. I had already cleaned off all the items and I wasn’t looking to con them for an entire box replacement so I let them know again that I’m only seeking a replacement for the damaged item. They responded by saying, “as a gesture of goodwill we would like to offer credit of 8.18 CAD for your next purchase with us.”

Are you kidding me? So for the third time, I let them know again, I am only looking for a product replacement! I even told them, a credit for their store is making me spend more money that I wouldn’t have spent just to get their credit. That’s not even remotely the same as replacing the item. I didn’t give in to them and had to persist for the replacement. It simply blows my mind that I had to fight that hard for a replacement of a damaged item. I am not a fan of their customer service. It’s honestly ridiculous.

ANYWAY.

What is it? LookFantastic Beauty Box
How much is it? $19 USD monthly ($18 monthly for 3-month commitment, $17 monthly for 6-month commitment, and $16 monthly for 12-month commitment)
Ships to? Worldwide
Shipping costs? Free
What’s inside? 6 deluxe sample or full size beauty products plus an Elle Magazine

StarSkin Eye Catcher Smoothing Bio-Cellulose Second Skin Eye Masks
This is the item that I received damaged! You can actually see part of the hole near the top. I obviously haven’t tried them yet since these ones are dried up but I’m anxious to receive my replacement! I really want to try these. They are designed to brighten and hydrate as well as reduce the appearance of dark circles, fine lines, and puffiness!
Retail Value: $7.08 CAD for 1 package (full size is $14.15 for 2-pack)

Skin Chemists 24 Hour Aqua Repair Facial Serum
I’m so happy to get this serum because I am running low on serums! This is a UK brand and it says it’s suitable for sensitive skin. It contains Rose Water, Allantoin and Aloe Vera to soothe and hydrate for all day moisturization. Can’t wait to try this!
Retail Value: $65.06 CAD for 30 ml (full size)

St. Tropez Instant Tan Finishing Gloss
I am not into self tanners in general but this one is a little baffling to me. It’s so shimmery! It’s not something I’m even remotely interested in. It does say it’s no commitment – it washes off with soap and water. But I just can’t see myself using this. I already have some regular St. Tropez self tanners in my collection that I’ve never used.
Retail Value: $5.99 CAD for 30 ml (full size is $19.98 for 100 ml)

PÜR Disappearing Act 4-In-1 Concealer
I was actually in need of some new concealer so this is another item that is good timing for me. This is in the shade “light” which seems a little darker than my natural skin tone but I think it will work perfect for the sunny Summer months! They call it a 4-in-1 concealer because it is a concealer, spot brightener, problem skin clarifier and anti-aging skincare.
Retail Value: $19.50 CAD for 1.7 g (full size is $32.11 for 2.8 g)

Redken HeatCure At-Home Self-Heating Mask
This is a pretty neat product. I believe it is a one time use. They included a card in the box that explains how to use it (there are no instructions on the packet). You peel the back panel off the package and it will begin to self heat. You use it when you’re done shampooing  to deep condition the hair. I’ve never used a product like this so I’m excited to try it!
Retail Value: $10.41 CAD for 1 package (full size is $41.63 for 4-pack)

Caudalie Vine[Activ] 3-in-1 Moisturizer
It’s so nice to see a Caudalie item in a subscription box that isn’t the usual Instant Detox Mask or Moisturizing Sorbet. For some reason, those seem to be the most common to show up in sub boxes! This one is a daily moisturizer that instantly restores a youthful-looking glow, smooths the look of wrinkles, and protects the skin from damaging pollutant particles. This will be good for my skin because my skin likes to break out after spending a lot of time outdoors.
Retail Value: $19.88 CAD for 15 ml (full size is $53 for 40 ml)

Total Retail Value: $127.92 CAD


Final Thoughts? I really thought this was an amazing box! I genuinely loved everything I got except the tanning gloss. The retail value is through the roof (I paid $22.79 CAD for this box) mostly thanks to the full size serum. I feel like LookFantastic always does a great box one month and a so-so the next. That’s how I’ve felt after getting 5 boxes so far! This one is definitely great. I’m not happy with their customer service though so after April’s box, I won’t be getting anymore. I don’t want to deal with that!!

xoxo, Tigritsa

9 thoughts on “The One with the LookFantastic March 2017 Box”

  1. I am sorry for your damage but the people in that company have to be more patient with their costumers and send you new mask in my opinion without coupons or extra money thing. But I am glad that you recieved nice products like concealer and that moisturiser :). Nice post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I agree! If a product is damaged, just replace it! Don’t try to make me spend money in your store to use up a credit, lol. But yeah, I did get some really nice products in this box so I’m happy with the items!! Thanks for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you loved everything in the box! It’s really unfortunate about their customer service, they have the potential to be such a great box but it’s just not worth it dealing with them when there’s a problem. In the end did they agree to replace the Starskin product? That heating mask sounds interesting, I didn’t even know that there were products like that out there!

    Like

    1. They did agree to replace it after the third time I asked, lol. I don’t think I should have had to fight for a replacement. I guess I am just used to Ipsy who has great customer service. Some companies don’t understand how important good customer service is.

      The hair mask was really good! I have never used a product that heats up like that but essentially it was a deep conditioning mask and made my hair feel very silky!

      Like

Leave a Reply

