empties · reviews

The One with the Empties February 2017


Last month, I decided I need to stay on top of my empties and do a monthly post rather than a bi-monthly post. I’ve been working hard to get through everything I own! I realized I buy a lot of stuff and I let it pile up. Not anymore! I have a whole bunch of empties for February!!

Dermalogica Special Cleansing Gel, Multi-Active Toner & Skin Smoothing Cream
This came as a 3-step set so I will review it as such! All 3 products are super gentle on your skin. If you have sensitive skin, these are for you. The cleanser is really good and lasted me longer than the other 2 products. It gently cleans, a little goes a long way, and there is no scent. It also reduced redness in my face! The toner is scented but it’s mild. It felt refreshing and didn’t leave any tightness. And the smoothing cream was moisturizing and unscented but it was only ok for me. Of the 3, I really liked the cleansing gel but I probably wouldn’t bother with the toner or cream again.

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray
This is an amazing setting spray for me! I have oily skin and it helps keep my oil in check for a long day. It also keeps my makeup in place! I love that it is affordable and just as good as the Urban Decay. I literally notice no difference! This is my second of probably many bottles!

Urban Decay De-Slick Oil Control Makeup Setting Spray
As I mentioned, there really is no difference between this setting spray and the Infallible. It’s something I heard a lot around beauty blogs and YouTube but I wanted to see for myself! This is a good setting spray, don’t get me wrong. It keeps my makeup in place and does control oil but I won’t buy it again when I can buy the same thing for way cheaper! I would still like to try the All Nighter from Urban Decay one of these days!

Nivea Essential Lip Balm
I discovered this about 10 years ago. I was using Chapstick, Blistex, Lypsyl, etc. Anything under the sun I could find at the drug store for cheap. But they were all leaving my lips with a rash over time. Apparently I have sensitive lips! So when I finally tried the Nivea, and it healed my lips, I never turned back. I haven’t stopped using it in the 10 years since. I go through so many of these – and lose many too! I have never had chapped lips since I started using this.

Rimmel Lip Conditioning Balm by Kate Moss
I have some big pros and some big cons with this lip balm! Overall, I really liked it. It didn’t give me a rash and it moisturized my lips! However, it’s way too soft so mine broke off! I had to squish it back down into the tube to make it stay. So every time I applied it, it was almost coming out of the tube. That was annoying! So I like the product but I wouldn’t buy it again because it’s a pain, haha.

Cake Delectable Ultra Nourishing Hand Cream
These are the best hand creams! This one is the Coconut & Cream scent but the whole collection smells scrumptious! I would buy these for the smell alone but they are actually really moisturizing and non-greasy! It’s also nice to support a Canadian cruelty-free company!

Marc Anthony Hydrating Coconut Oil Deep Nourishing Conditioning Treatment
I really disliked this conditioner. I was 100% expecting to love it! Coconut oil?! Shea butter?! These are usually ingredients that make great products! So what didn’t I like about this? It was not hydrating at all. It honestly felt like I was using any old cheap conditioner. My hair was not left ultra smooth or silky, which is what I expect after using a deep conditioner. So this was a very disappointing product.

The Body Shop Pomegranate Firming Night Cream
I really liked this cream! A little bit went a long way and it doesn’t pill when applied over other products. That is important to me because I layer my skin care (start with oil, then serum, then my cream) and pilling is my number one pet peeve with face creams! I found if I used too much of this, it sort of sat on my face so I started using less and it absorbed nicely. I’m not sure if I noticed any difference in my fine lines from using this. It’s hard to tell sometimes but I would buy it again.

Bath & Body Works 3-Wick Candles
There’s something about winter that makes me want to burn candles! I went through 2 candles this month – Peppermint Marshmallow and Frosted Gingerbread! They both smell divine and both scents are very winter-y.

Bath & Body Works Gentle Foaming Hand Soap
This smells very tropical! I actually had this scent of candle at one point. I do find B&BW hand soaps to be drying on my hands. I’m not sure if it’s just the foaming ones or all of them. I tend to buy the foaming ones because my son likes to wash his hands with the foam. But if the gel ones are less drying, I might have to switch. The only reason I buy these is because they smell too darn good!!

Garnier Micellar Water All-in-1 Cleansing Water
This is the waterproof variety which I liked better than the regular version. This takes off makeup really well but it does leave your skin feeling oily so you have to make sure to follow with washing your face. For me, I would buy this again just to use on my eye makeup in the shower since it’s so affordable. I wouldn’t use it for my face again.

Burt’s Bees Cleansing Oil with Coconut & Argan Oils
This was the first cleansing oil I ever tried and I loved it! It took off my makeup so easily. I never tried it on my eyes – I’m not even sure if you’re supposed to use it on your eyes – so I can’t comment there. I found this left my skin super soft, too. Because this is the only of it’s kind that I’ve tried, I do want to see what else is out there so I just bought a cleansing oil from The Body Shop (which you can see in my haul here).

Secret Outlast & Olay Smooth Solid Antiperspirant/Deodorant
I wouldn’t normally include my deodorant in my empties but I am desperate. Why? They have stopped making this! I cannot find the smooth solid in stores anywhere. Only solids and clear gels.  😦  They do make the clinical deodorants as smooth solids but I can’t wear those too many weeks in a row or they will stop working. So I would always use this deodorant in between and it works amazing. Rubs nicely into the skin, doesn’t leave white marks or residue, you can layer it up, feels conditioning, and stops sweat and odour! If anyone knows a company that makes a smooth solid, please let me know!

Ole Henriksen Pure Truth Youth Activating Oil
This was an interesting product. I wouldn’t be able to buy it again. It did brighten my skin and gave me that healthy glow, but I didn’t like how it went on my face orange. I only used it at night so by morning, obviously I wasn’t still orange, but I just think that is too weird!

Ole Henriksen Truth Serum Collagen Booster
This is an amazing product. Not only does it smell heavenly (smells like oranges), but it’s a great serum! It brightens the skin, and makes it very soft. It contains Vitamin C which has many benefits for the skin. I would like to buy it again but it is so expensive for a full size so we will see.

Pixi Glow Mud Mask
I got this little sample from Generation Beauty last year and I remember hearing whispers around me about how the Pixi free gift sucked. I like skin care so I was happy to get it but I never guessed that this would become a favourite for me! Not only does this give me glowy fresh faced skin but it’s amazing for my breakouts. This works for me way better than any charcoal clay masks I’ve tried! I can actually see the mask working to pull out all the impurities on my face. Pixi just came to Canada’s Shoppers Drug Mart but I don’t think they carry this, unfortunately. I need another one though.  😦

Elizabeth Arden SuperStart Skin Renewal Booster
So I had one of these in last months empties post (view it here). I don’t think this is a necessary step to my skin care. It’s supposed to prep your skin to boost the effectiveness of serums and moisturizers but I honestly noticed no difference. I think companies are just trying to create the next big fad but it’s pointless, in my opinion.

Pur-Lisse Pur-Moist Hydra-Balance Moisturizer
This is a nice gentle moisturizer for sensitive skin. It’s very hydrating and I like this version of their moisturizer way better than their SPF version (that one leaves me way too greasy). I like the smell, surprisingly. It’s very unique – smells like plants, maybe? But in a good way. I wouldn’t ever buy this again though due to the high cost.

The Face Shop The Solution Smoothing Face Mask
This is one of my favourite TFS masks I’ve used so far. They aren’t a great fit for my face – my face is narrow and it’s made for wider faces – but I like using them despite that. This one left my face so smooth and soft!

MaskerAide Spotted! Anti Blemish Clear Spot Patches
I’m loving these! They are a great way to help reduce pimples faster. I put these on overnight and I notice a difference in the size by morning. They can be drying if worn on the same pimple on consecutive nights. They also stick to your skin like super glue so you don’t have to worry about them falling off at night but because of that, they can be a little difficult to remove. I still have 2 more packs of these!

Joe Fresh 100% Cotton Pads
I’ve tried so many random brands of cotton pads and they almost all fall apart really easily. I don’t have that problem with these ones! They always stay together and I don’t get little bits of cotton in my eyes when taking off mascara. I’ll try to keep buying this particular brand!

The Body Shop Ethiopian Honey Deep Nourishing Mask
This mask is really sticky, as expected! I loved using this because it left my skin feeling so hydrated and nourished. I’m not sure if I’d buy it any time soon because of the crazy amount of masks I already own but possibly in the future!

That’s a lot of empties for February! I’ll just give myself a little pat on the back. It’s definitely a feeling of accomplishment. I was surprised how many I accumulated in just a month! Anyway, I hope you enjoyed looking through my empties! These posts are some of my favourites to read so link me to yours!

xoxo, Tigritsa

5 thoughts on “The One with the Empties February 2017

  1. What an accomplishment finishing so many products in a month! I didn’t know that Pixi is at shoppers drug mart now, I’ll have to go take a look!

    Like

Leave a Reply

