lookfantastic, subscription boxes, unboxing

The One with the LookFantastic February 2017 Box

Hola! I’m playing catch up on my unboxing posts so you’ll see my Ipsy and Topbox posts coming shortly after this one. I actually got this box super fast this month which is impressive considering it came all the way from the UK. I do have a long rant about this subscription so if you’re curious about what I have to say, keep reading. If you’re just looking for the unboxing, skip ahead!!

When I signed up for this sub, I was under the impression that the prices were in Canadian dollars. The website has the option to choose your currency, and I of course, chose CAD. This shows me that a 3-month subscription would cost $18 per box. What I did not know is that these prices are actually in US dollars. It does not have USD beside the price!!! And the rest of the site (their shop) shows up in Canadian dollars for me…so there appears to be a big glitch with their currencies which unfortunately deceives Canadians into thinking they are paying CAD when, in fact, they are not.

Another issue I have with this subscription is the cancellation system. While I generally like the products I get in this sub, I wanted to save some money and so I decided I would cancel for now and maybe sign up later. Mid-January, I looked up their FAQ on how to cancel and it said to turn off the auto-renew, so I did. I thought I cancelled in plenty of time because they don’t charge until the 1st of the next month. I was thinking all was well when February 1st rolled around, and I got a shipping email for the February box!

I was very confused of course so I sent them an email – and I have to say, they are the slowest at getting back to you. I wrote them on the 1st and still didn’t hear back by the 7th so I sent another email wondering if anyone was ever going to reply, and finally got an answer on the 8th.

They told me that I was supposed to turn off the auto renew within 14 days of my 2nd box being dispatched. Ok, fair enough, I didn’t do my research in time… But even if I had looked into this earlier, when going over their FAQ, this info is not made clear at all! It definitely makes it sound like all you have to do is turn off the auto renew if you don’t want your subscription to renew itself. So I am not happy with LookFantastic right now.

I’m sorry for such a long rant and kudos to you if you actually read it!  XD Let’s move on to the actual products of the box!

What is it? LookFantastic Beauty Box
How much is it? $19 USD monthly ($18 monthly for 3-month commitment, $17 monthly for 6-month commitment, and $16 monthly for 12-month commitment)
Ships to? Worldwide
Shipping costs? Free
What’s inside? 6 deluxe sample or full size beauty products plus an Elle Magazine

MyVitamins Catwalk Queen
I was really surprised to see vitamins as part of a beauty box! This bottle comes with 30 tablets that have a blend of vitamins and minerals for the maintenance of hair, skin, and nails (so, beauty related, I guess!). Some of the nutrients include Vitamin C, Zinc, Bamboo Extract, Biotin, and Vitamin D3. I’m just not sure if it’s ok to use these in addition to my regular Multivitamin, so I’ll have to figure that out.
Retail Value: $11.65 CAD for 30 tablets (full size is $23.29 for 60 tablets)

This Works Stress Check Breathe In
This is by far the coolest item in the box! It’s a little rollerball that you roll onto your pulse points and breathe in the aroma to help relieve stress. It has a 100% natural blend of Eucalyptus, Frankincense and Lavender oils. You can use it when you’re feeling stressed or you can use it first thing in the morning for a calming start to the day. I have never tried aromatherapy so I’m very curious if this works. I’m stressed out and anxious 90% of the time and might benefit from something like this. I hope it helps!
Retail Value: $16.65 CAD for 5 ml (full size is $26.64 for 8 ml)

Borghese Fango Ferma Mud Mask
There were a few different varieties of this mud mask sent out (ex. hydrating, brightening, etc.) and I received the firming mud mask. Given the option, that’s exactly the one I would have chosen. This is something I will definitely use. It is meant to reduce the appearance of fine lines, improve elasticity, moisturize, protect and impart a smooth, supple texture. The math on this was super annoying because it’s in different measurements on the bottle and the website!!
Retail Value: $4.43 CAD for 26 ml (full size is $37.55 for 222 ml)

The Ordinary Natural Moisturizing Factors + HA
This “surface hydration formula” (aka moisturizer!) contains Hyaluronic Acid, which is a great anti-aging and hydrating ingredient. I haven’t tried this out yet but the beauty booklet the box comes with says it does not feel heavy or oily on the skin which is great to hear. I’m very surprised how affordable it is, too!
Retail Value: $5.80 CAD for 30 ml (full size)

Polaar Icy Magic Roll On Instant Eye Contour Energizer
I always appreciate getting eye care type products in my beauty boxes! This is a roll on that uses Siberian ginseng to eliminate puffiness, dark circles, and even stimulate eyelash growth (not sure I’d want to put something that close to my eyeballs though). I actually tried this while I am typing this up because I only got 4 hours of sleep and I can confirm that my undereye was brightened and I looked more awake!
Retail Value: $34.13 CAD for 10 ml (full size)

ModelCo EyeLites Liquid Eyeshadow
I can’t find any information about this product anywhere. I’m going to guess it’s discontinued? Or maybe yet to be released? This is a liquid eyeshadow which is new to me! I’m not very experimental with shadows but I have to say the shade is absolutely stunning. It’s called “St Barts” and it’s a beautiful metallic coppery rose gold. I did do a hand swatch and it seems like it would be a little hard to work with. For the sake of giving a value to this box, I’m going to estimate the price of this based on ModelCo’s typical prices.
Retail Value: $15 CAD (estimated)

Total Retail Value: $87.66 CAD

Final Thoughts? I’m pretty happy with this box! I’ll use everything in here except probably the ModelCo shadow (simply because I don’t think liquid eyeshadows are my thing). I’m most excited about the stress reliever and the eye roll on! I think I’ll like the moisturizer and mud mask a lot, too. I do feel a little sour about the box because of the issues I’ve had with the company. I don’t want that to take away from the box itself as it is quite good. But I can say that April will be my last box! My auto renew is off and I don’t think I’ll be signing up again. I really hope the cancellation works this time or I’ll be pretty mad.  XD

xoxo, Tigritsa

2 thoughts on “The One with the LookFantastic February 2017 Box”

  1. I’m glad you like the products this month even if their customer service is awful! I hope they fix their currencies soon, this is also going to be my only box just because I’m mad at them for not caring about fixing the problem! That’s crazy it took them over a week to get back to you, it should be 2-3 business days max (in my opinion)!!

    The stress relief product is such a great idea, I hope it helps for you! I’m also wondering about taking the vitamins in addition to a multivitamin :S the catwalk vitamins dont quite have everything I need, but I don’t know if combining them would be too much of anything.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

