subscription boxes, topbox, unboxing

The One with the Topbox January 2017 Box

Topbox has been pretty great these last few months! I’ve been opting for the regular boxes lately but this month, there was a privé I wanted to try! I ended up wishing for it and getting it. Sometimes I don’t like wishing for the privé because I’m worried I’ll like the regular box better! While I thought the regular boxes were great this month, I wasn’t upset to miss out on it. I’m happy with my choice to go with the MaskerAide privé box!

What is it? Topbox
How much is it? $12 CAD per month (plus tax)
Ships to? Canada
Shipping costs? Free
What’s inside? 4 deluxe sample or full size beauty products

MaskerAide Spotted! Anti-Blemish Clear Spot Patches
In this privé, we received 3 packs of 24 patches. I have been using the Nexcare Acne Absorbing Covers a lot lately and I love those! But these MaskerAide patches intrigued me because they contain Salicylic Acid, Tea Tree Oil and Volcanic Ash. I’ve had a lot of success with the Nexcare covers even though they don’t contain those ingredients. They literally just suck the oil and dirt from the blemish and it helps heal it a lot faster. So with these acne-fighting ingredients in the MaskerAide patches, I just had to try it.

My only concern is that they might dry my skin out too much. Salicylic Acid and Tea Tree Oil do that to my skin when used too many days in a row. So I may do these one day and my Nexcare ones the next day to help prevent dry skin.
Retail Value: $7 CAD each ($21 total)

BONUS: Garnier Micellar Water
What a nice surprise to receive this bonus item from Topbox! This is quite a generous sample size! I’ve used their waterproof one before (it has a blue cap, I believe). It works great for removing makeup! My only complaint about it is that it leaves my skin feeling a bit oily so I remember I stopped using it to remove a full face of makeup and switched to just removing eye makeup. And even then, I always felt like I had to thoroughly rinse my eye area to remove the oily residue. But, since I remove my mascara in the shower, I can live with that.
Retail Value: $2.49 for 125 ml (full size is $7.97 for 400 ml)

Total Retail Value: $23.49 CAD

Glam Sense: John Frieda Sheer Blonde Go Blonder Shampoo, Conditioner & Treatment
I am part of Topbox’s review program, Glam Sense. They sent me these John Frieda products for free in exchange for an honest review! If you haven’t signed up yet, here is their website. I truly recommend it. I get many free boxes from them to review and the best thing is that it’s not as overwhelming as Influenster or BzzAgent. Usually, all they require is a review on the product’s website!

Final Thoughts? Not an outstanding value from Topbox this month but I knew that going in when I chose this privé. It was more about being able to try a new product that I knew I was going to use! And getting the bonus micellar water was a nice treat! And then also getting my GlamSense box! It was a thrill to receive so many free products at once! Thanks Topbox!

xoxo, Tigritsa

3 thoughts on “The One with the Topbox January 2017 Box”

Leave a Reply

