ipsy · subscription boxes · unboxing

The One with the Ipsy January 2017 Glam Bag

I am having such a love affair with Ipsy lately! My bags have been on point. I think the new beauty quiz has made such a difference for my bags. I don’t get Ipsy every month expecting to love all 5 items. I expect there to be a couple misses. So when I get bags where I’m loving 4 or 5 items, I get so impressed. This month was another great one for me! I’m really happy with what I received.


The makeup bag this month is inspired by skyscrapers but I have to admit, my first thought was a disco ball! I remember seeing the spoilers and thinking “oh they must have made it look like a disco ball for New Years.”  XD It will never remind me of skyscrapers now, but it is such a pretty yet simple bag!

What is it? Ipsy Glam Bag
How much is it? $10 USD per month or $110 USD yearly
Ships to? Canada & US
Shipping costs? $4.95 USD per month; Free for US
What’s inside? 5 deluxe sample or full size beauty products, plus a makeup bag

Sally’s Box Loverecipe Sheet Masks
I received two sheet masks from this Korean brand. One is “AcaiBerry” and it is for keeping skin radiant and firm, and the other is “Aloe” which is for moisturizing and smoothing. The packaging is super cute. I love the artwork on the front! There’s a lot of Korean on the packaging also, but luckily there are English directions as well! Although, with sheet masks, directions are pretty straightforward! I’m very happy to try a new (to me) brand of sheet masks!
Retail Value: $8 CAD for 2 (full size)

Rimmel Lip Conditioning Balm by Kate Moss
I’ve been seeing a lot of Rimmel’s Nude Collection by Kate lately, which I’ve been really interested to try. At first, I thought this was going to be one of her lip colours but it turned out to be a lip conditioning balm! I’m not sure if this is even available in Canada yet. After a google search, I can only find it on American websites! I wear lip balm all day, every day, so I love trying new ones to see if they work for me. I haven’t used this one yet because I’m in the middle of a few others but it will be next, for sure!
Retail Value: $7.32 CAD (full size)

SLMissGlam Blend Beauty Brush L34
I love that I am getting a brush in almost every bag lately! I’ve been getting some really useful ones. This is my third SLMissGlam brush that I have received from Ipsy (the other two get used a lot). This one is a gorgeous light purple instead of the usual white. It also says Ipsy right on it so it must have been a special collab! As usual with this brand, they don’t sell many brushes individually so I will estimate the price of this one the same as their eyeshadow brush.
Retail Value: $17.99 CAD (full size)

ModelCo Blush Cheek Powder Sheer Pressed Powder
So, I actually just got this blush in the same colour “Peach Bellini” from my November LookFantastic box. While it would have been nice to receive a different blush (like the Manna Kadar or Pacifica ones some people got), it is such a stunning shade that I’m happy to have a backup. I’m not even going to open this one until I’m ready to use it. This blush is super pigmented so a light hand is recommended!!
Retail Value: $12.83 CAD for 3.5 g (full size is $29.32 for 8 g)

Manna Kadar 3-in-1 Eyeshadow
This product is apparently for multitasking! You are supposed to be able to use it as an eyeshadow, blush or highlight. First, let’s talk about the colour, “Fantasy.” It’s described as “pink champagne.” I think it’s a gorgeous colour and right up my alley. My only problem with this is it’s not very pigmented. You will get that pop of shimmer so I think it would make a great highlight. As a shadow, I think it might have to be applied with a wet brush but I’m not sure. I wouldn’t use it as a blush, personally.
Retail Value: $25.32 CAD for 3 g

Total Retail Value: $71.46 CAD

Final Thoughts? I am loving this month’s bag! I got 5 (well, 6, technically!) items I love and will definitely use. I really can’t ask for anything more! That exceeds my expectations. After the exchange, I paid around $20 for all this?! I think that’s fantastic. And that’s not even including the bag itself! I always find uses for these bags which is nice, also. It will be tough for me to ever cancel Ipsy, especially if I keep getting bags I enjoy! I hope you loved your bag this month!

xoxo, Tigritsa

6 thoughts on “The One with the Ipsy January 2017 Glam Bag

  1. Wow super jealous you got that Rimmel Kate lip balm and those sheet face masks!!! You are so lucky! And I’m glad that I’m not the only one who thinks that Mannakadar eyeshadow pigmentation wasnt enough. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

