julep · subscription boxes · unboxing

The One with the Julep Maven January 2017 Box

My first box of 2017! It still feels weird saying 2017. As always, I really appreciate that we can skip months with this subscription. I had planned on skipping January to save on money but they just had to hook me in with a new product I wanted to try. You’ll find out what that was below.  🙂

img_4859

What is it? Julep Maven Box
How much is it? $24.99 USD monthly or $19.99 USD/month for 3-month commitment
Ships to? Canada & US
Shipping costs? Free
What’s inside? 3 full size nail or beauty products


Boost Your Radiance Reparative Rosehip Seed Facial Oil
This is the product that won me over. I got an email from Julep about the January collection and I immediately wanted to try it. The email stated that it works great for acne-prone skin, reducing hyperpigmentation and the appearance of scars. I guess they knew their audience because that’s what got me interested.

It contains Vitamin E to aid in the absorption of the rosehip seed oil and protect against free radical damage with antioxidants; Rosehip Seed Oil to reduce the appearance of fine lines, scars and hyperpigmentation, regulate oil production while moisturizing, and contains healing and regenerating properties; and Bergamot Oil which contains brightening benefits and has natural antiseptic properties.

It sounds amazing and I can’t wait to try it. It’s a very expensive product which is why I wanted to get it in my box because I get more bang for my buck!
Retail Value: $36 USD ($28.80 Maven) / $47.36 CAD ($37.87 Maven)

Nail Colour in “Barb”
This is a new shade from Julep! It’s a nice deep grey colour described as “Cool Slate Crème.” I’ve been looking for the perfect grey nail polish for awhile. I purchased “Nedra” last year, thinking it would be the grey I was looking for. While it was a beautiful colour, it ended up leaning more towards a smokey purple than a slate grey. So I have high hopes for this shade!
Retail Value: $14 USD ($11.20 Maven) / $18.40 CAD ($14.72 Maven)

Nail Colour in “Cheyenne”
When I was looking for one more product to add to my box, I just couldn’t decide on something. I knew I didn’t need anymore nail polishes but I kept going back to this colour! I ended up choosing it anyway, as you can see! Julep describes it as “Auburn Matte Metallic.” To me, this just screams fall colour but I think it will make a good winter colour, as well.
Retail Value: $14 USD ($11.20 Maven) / $18.40 CAD ($14.72 Maven)

Total Retail Value: $64 USD ($51.20 Maven) / $84.16 CAD ($67.31 Maven)

Final Thoughts? As you can see, the retail value is insane on this box! That’s why I think if you’re looking to buy some of their more expensive products, it’s best to choose those items for your subscription box. I paid $26.27 CAD for $84 worth of stuff. That’s pretty amazing. I’m also really excited about all 3 items! I haven’t tried a skincare item from Julep before so I hope I love it. I really need to take a break from some of my sub boxes to save on money so please wish me luck on sticking to that!  XD I always get so tempted!!!

xoxo, Tigritsa

2 thoughts on “The One with the Julep Maven January 2017 Box

Leave a Reply

