lookfantastic, subscription boxes, unboxing

The One with the LookFantastic December 2016 Box

Wow, I finally got my December box…in January! It does come all the way from the UK so I was kind of expecting a delay. With the holiday season, I figured it would come in late (and I admit, it did sit at the post office for a good 4 days). I’m going to link my November post in case you want to read more details about the subscription. The box is such a gorgeous copper colour this month!

What is it? LookFantastic Beauty Box
How much is it? $19 CAD monthly ($18 monthly for 3-month commitment, $17 monthly for 6-month commitment, and $16 monthly for 12-month commitment)
Ships to? Worldwide
Shipping costs? Free
What’s inside? 6-7 deluxe sample or full size beauty products plus an Elle Magazine

Balance Me Pure Skin Face Wash
This brand looks familiar. I’m pretty sure Ipsy has sent it out before! It says it cleanses, balances, and refreshes! It’s also 98.8% natural! Close enough? The bottle is sealed but I can smell it through the seal and I’ll just say the scent is not very appealing… I was looking forward to using this but maybe not so much anymore. It smells like a weird plant. I’ve used plenty of all-natural products before and they don’t normally smell this strange.
Retail Value: $8 CAD for 50 ml (full size is $20 for 125 ml)

Bubble T Bath Fizzer
This is one of my favourite items from the box! I don’t take baths often but getting a bath bomb definitely inspires me to take the time to do so. This one is hibiscus & açai berry tea scent and does it ever smell wonderful! I like the warning label “this is not food, do not eat.”  XD It smells good enough to eat! This uses a blend of goji berry extracts, tea notes and essential oils to nourish the skin!
Retail Value: $4 CAD (full size)

Skin Republic CoQ10 + Caviar Face Mask Sheet
I believe I have seen these masks in Ipsy before, also! I always wanted to get one. This one seems perfect for me because it uses CoQ10, caviar, and witch hazel to reduce redness, and revitalize and nourish the skin for a more youthful appearance. Can’t wait to use this!
Retail Value: $6.50 CAD (full size)

Philip Kingsley Elasticizer
This is an interesting product. It’s described as an intensive, super-conditioning pre-shampoo treatment that add elasticity, manageability, bounce, and shine. You’re supposed to wet your hair, apply this treatment, and leave it on for 10-20 minutes before shampooing and conditioning as normal. I mean, it seems a little extra to me but I’m guessing it’s good for heavily damaged hair. It’s not something I’m going to want to use every time I wash my hair but I’ll give it a try.
Retail Value: $10 CAD for 40 ml (full size is $37.50 for 150 ml)

Mellow Creamy Matte Lipstick
One of the reasons I wanted to subscribe to this box was to get away from all the makeup items I get from my other boxes so I was not excited to see this lipstick. It’s a stunning red colour called “Madness” but there is just no hope that I will ever wear it!  😛 I get why they would send it in a December box because of Christmas, but yeah, it’s just not for me.
Retail Value: $17.22 CAD (full size)

Illamasqua Hydra Veil Primer
This is a neat looking product. It’s described as part hydrator, part primer! It’s a gel formula and you use it like a primer, before putting on your foundation. It contains microalgae, Vitamin C and B3 to hydrate the skin and plant extracts for a calm and refreshing feeling. Now, this little guy is only about half full but the beauty booklet says you only need a small amount so hopefully I can get a decent amount of uses.
Retail Value: $10.59 CAD for 6 ml (full size is $52.95 for 30 ml)

Total Retail Value: $56.31 CAD

BONUS: 8 piece Makeup Brush Set
As you may have read in my November post, I was waiting on this free brush set that was sent out the same day as my November box. I didn’t receive this until after Christmas!! I don’t know why there would be such a difference in delivery time. But, they made it, and that’s what matters. It’s a cute little set and I’m always looking for some new powder brushes so I’m glad to receive those!

Final Thoughts? This is my second box and I think I expected something much better for the Christmas box. I don’t dislike it by any means but as a whole, it’s just ok for me. I feel like I’ll have to force myself to use the face wash and the lipstick will just sit in my box of unused makeup. The bath bomb and face mask are really the only items that excite me. Especially the bath bomb and it’s the cheapest thing in the box!  XD I am definitely curious about the primer, though. So, we will see how I like the January box when I finally get it. If I’m really excited about it, I think I will stay subscribed. Otherwise, I may cancel for a little while.

xoxo, Tigritsa

1 thought on “The One with the LookFantastic December 2016 Box”

Leave a Reply

