julep · subscription boxes · unboxing

The One with the Julep Maven December 2016 Box

Playing catch up yet again before the month is over! I decided to go ahead and get the December Julep box this month because there were a few items I wanted to get! I just love that you can customize your box and choose whether you want to skip a month or not. The more products I get from this company, the more I am loving it! So let’s see what I selected for December and I apologize for the crappy lighting for the photos. Unfortunately some of the colours aren’t showing as they do in person but if I wait for natural light, this post might never get done!  😛

What is it? Julep Maven Box
How much is it? $24.99 USD monthly or $19.99 USD/month for 3-month commitment
Ships to? Canada & US
Shipping costs? Free
What’s inside? 3 full size nail or beauty products

Nail Colour in “Lula”
I chose to get a nail polish this month because I absolutely loved this shade. It’s described by Julep as “pomegranate multidimensional glitter.” I don’t own any colours like this, surprisingly. I love shimmery polishes and their formula really holds up for me in comparison to most other polishes I use.
Retail Value: $14 USD ($11.20 Maven)

Voila! Nail Polish Thinner
This is a product I’ve been wanting to buy for awhile now so I figured I would just select it for my box! You are supposed to add a couple of drops to thickened nail polish to restore it’s normal consistency. I hope it works because I have so many polishes, so naturally I don’t go through them very quickly, and this will ensure I get more longevity out of them. I was super happy with the Quick Dry drops I got from them in my October box (they work really well) so here’s hoping this product is great also!
Retail Value: $14 USD ($11.20 Maven)

It’s Whipped Matte Lip Mousse in “Pillow Talk”
This is a new shade from the It’s Whipped line! I own “Ooh La La” and “Bisou” already. All 3 are pretty similar in colour but I really like this formula. I know it’s not like me to buy lipsticks but when it’s the right colour, I like getting them to “experiment.”  😄 This colour is described by Julep as “Victorian pink matte” and I really like the way it looks on my lips. I find a lot of lip colours look different on my lips compared to photos but this one is what I expected.
Retail Value: $20 USD ($16 Maven)

Total Retail Value: $48 USD ($38.40 Maven) / $64.72 CAD ($51.77 Maven)

Final Thoughts? Well, I loooooove my December box and I better since I chose all 3 items myself! My retail value isn’t as high as the last box I got but it’s still a good deal since I would have had to pay an extra $25 if I were to buy all these on their own (at Maven price!). I love that there was a green apple flavoured candy included in the box! It’s such a nice extra touch! Does anyone have any Julep products that they like that I absolutely need to try?! I would love to hear some suggestions!

xoxo, Tigritsa

12 thoughts on “The One with the Julep Maven December 2016 Box

  1. The nail polish thinner is really useful! I have a few bottles that are over a year old and have thickened over time and it restored them to brand new consistency. I also chose one the the Its whipped lip shades this month, I think I’ll be ordering pillow talk or Bisou next! The formula is so comfortable to wear!

    Like

      1. I haven’t tried it’s balm yet, I want to try it in the apricot shade. Good to know you like it so I won’t be afraid to order!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

