empties · reviews

The One with the Empties October 2016


Okay, so I know it is now officially November but these are all my empties from October and even some from September. I have quite a few piled up since I forgot to do a September post! So, here we go!


Bioderma Hydrabio Moisturizing Toning Lotion

Product Details (from their website):

  • Produces a sensation of freshness
  • Leaves the skin toned and moisturised after make-up removal
  • Fluid, lightweight texture
  • Allergen-free fragrance
  • Non-comedogenic
  • Hypoallergenic

My Thoughts? I got this last winter in my Luxe Box and I fell in love with it. At the time I was using Lush’s Tea Tree Toner (which I also love) but because of the weather, my skin really needed something hydrating. The Bioderma worked so well. I could tone my skin without drying it out or worrying about dry patches under my makeup. I’ve been meaning to pick another one of these up!


Avène Hydrance Optimale Hydrating Serum

Product Details (from their website):

  • Restores and maintains skin hydration
  • Relieves skin tightness and irritation
  • Provides 24 hours of continuous hydration with time-released hydrophilic matrix
  • Patented Liposomes trap and carry Avène Thermal Spring Water deep into the epidermis to provide in-depth hydration
  • Avène Thermal Spring Water soothes, softens and calm the skin

My Thoughts? I loved using this in the day time before applying makeup because my makeup always looks better when my skin is really hydrated. It’s a great extra step that takes little effort! I liked how fast it absorbed into my skin, also. I’m not sure if I’ll buy it again simply because it’s quite expensive and you go through it so quickly.


Pur-lisse Pur-Bright Ultra Skin Brightening Serum

Product Details (from their website):

A bright idea in beauty – creating luminous, even-toned skin without harsh ingredients. Key ingredients in this hydroquinone-free concentration are clinically proven to help brighten through our unique, exclusive peptide complex, Lotus Lupine 5. Its 9 powerful plant extracts strengthen skin against future damage, while safely decreasing melanin production for fewer age spots. Pure genius!

  • Brightens skin tone.
  • Evens out skin without the use of harsh chemicals.
  • Hydroquinone-Free.
  • Decreases the appearance of age spots and sun damages.

My Thoughts? This product is being discontinued since pur-lisse has a newer Blue Lotus line of all their skin care. It does everything it says – brightened my skin, evened it out, gave me that lovely glow…I liked it a lot! However, due to the price, I wouldn’t repurchase. I love pur-lisse products but there are so many good brightening serums on the market for waaaaay cheaper.


L’Oreal Infallible Pro Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray

Product Details (from their website):

Locks in makeup for a “just applied” makeup look all day. Lightweight mist, barely there feel. Dermatologist tested. Non-comedogenic.

Keep your makeup looking fresh hours after application: no melting, fading or touch-ups necessary. This lightweight, oil free setting spray locks in your total makeup look, Face, Eyes, and Lips, preventing color from smudging or settling into fine lines for all-day staying power.

My Thoughts? I’ve only tried 2 setting sprays but this one wins hands down. Before last year, I didn’t even know what setting spray was. Now, I wouldn’t dare wear makeup without it! I have a really oily T-zone and this stuff really keeps it at bay. I can do a whole 8 hour shift and not have to worry about getting oily. I will keep buying this again and again.


elf Makeup Mist & Set

Product Details (from their website):

Wish you could have a product for your makeup that’s like hairspray is for your hair? Well…keep your makeup staying in place all day with a radiance boosting invisible hold with our new Makeup Mist & Set. The invigorating mist moisturizes and soothes the skin with key ingredients Aloe, Green Tea, Cucumber and Vitamins A, C & E. The lightweight, comfortable and alcohol free formula improves makeup wearability and prevents color from running or fading.

My Thoughts? This was the first setting spray I tried. I thought for 3 bucks, why not? I liked it at first but after I finally got around to trying the Infallible, I was able to notice how the elf one isn’t as good. I think it’s better for my makeup than not using any setting spray at all but it just doesn’t control my oil the way the Infallible does. I don’t think I’d buy it again since I found something that worked better for my skin.


The Body Shop Aloe Eye Defense

Product Details (from their website):

An ophthalmologically tested gel-crème for the delicate skin around the eye. It is designed for skin that needs more gentle care. Fragrance, colour and alcohol-free No added preservatives Suitable for contact-lens wearers

My Thoughts? When I bought this, I was just starting to get interested in using eye creams. In hindsight, I shouldn’t have bought it because I wanted something more in the anti-aging category, which this is not. On the plus side, I think this cream was very moisturizing and soothing and a little bit went a long way. But I could only use it at night because it felt too sticky and pilled so I couldn’t wear it under makeup. I wouldn’t buy it again.

Normally I don’t post my empty “foils” because I can’t really get that great of a read on the product from such a small sample. But I’ve saved up a couple that I had a definite opinion on even after only a couple uses, so I thought I’d write up some quick thoughts on these as well.


Burt’s Bees BB Cream with Noni Extract – I really liked this. I had 2 of these little samples so I was able to use it a handful of times. I don’t know if I’d go back to wearing BB creams (lately I’ve been either bare faced or foundation – no in between!) but if I did, I would love to pick this one up! I really liked how it applied and the smell was soooo nice.

Fresh Crème Ancienne Soft Cream – Have you ever tried a product that you liked but just couldn’t stand the smell? This one is it for me. It was so thick and moisturizing and felt great on my skin but the smell was just too much. I don’t even know how to describe it. For some reason I want to say licorice?! But like, bad licorice, lol.  XD

Burt’s Bees Daily Moisturizing Cream with Cotton Extract – I liked this cream a lot. The scent was light and fresh, and the product feels great on my skin. I didn’t have any bad thoughts about this stuff.

Laneige Water Bank Moisture Cream – Ok I fell in love.  😦  Sad face because full size is so expensive! I just did a Sephora order and bought Laneige’s $15 set which contains a small size of this cream so that will keep me happy for a week maybe. It’s so moisturizing and rich and makes my skin feel so smooth. The smell is so refreshing, too!

And that’s it for my empties! Sorry, I didn’t mean for my post to be so long. I could have saved some for another post but I’ve been hoarding these products for awhile and just want to be able to finally throw them out, ha!  XD As always, I’d love to see your empties for the month so link me to your posts! Have an awesome day!

xoxo, Tigritsa

5 thoughts on “The One with the Empties October 2016

  1. I tried the Loreal setting spray too but there was a type of scent to it that didn’t sit well with me. That one and the maybelline master fix both had the same scent and I couldn’t take it. My bf also smelled it and didn’t like it. I’m glad you love it though! It seems like I’m the only one who smells that scent.

    Like

    1. Aw I’ve never noticed a different smell to it before! It’s so true that a scent can make or break a product! Another item I reviewed was so nice but I couldn’t take the smell, lol. Luckily there are a lot of options for setting spray! Which one do you use?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

