julep · subscription boxes · unboxing

The One with the Julep October 2016 Maven Box

This is my last box in my Julep subscription! I am going to resubscribe and just continue to skip months when I feel like there is nothing I want super badly. I heard recently from a beauty blog that Julep made a change that we would only be able to skip once every 6 months. That would have affected my decision to resub. However, I looked into it, and I couldn’t find anything that supports those claims. Their FAQ and Terms and Conditions still state you can skip as often as you like. Woo hoo!

What is it? Julep Maven Box
How much is it? $24.99 USD monthly or $19.99 USD/month for 3-month commitment
Ships to? Canada & US
Shipping costs? Free
What’s inside? 3 full size nail or beauty products

Ta Da! Quick Dry Drops
These are always out of stock, so I’m hoping that means they are good! The reviews are very favourable. I chose these for my box because I have the worst luck with wrecking my nails after painting them. I really hope they work for me! You wait one minute after applying your polish, and apply 1-2 drops per nail and it’s supposed to reduce the dry time.

It also contains Almond Oil and Vitamin E to nourish cuticles and nails! It is scented with lavender and ylang ylang. I’m not a big fan of lavender but I was honestly expecting it to smell like nail polish remover so the fact that it had any kind of non-chemical-y scent was a big plus for me. I wish I received my box two days earlier because I just painted my nails and would have loved to try this out – especially since I wrecked one flipping up a light switch.  XD
Retail Value: $18 USD ($14.40 Maven)

Bronzer Brush
I am soooo excited I got this brush! For those not familiar with how the Maven boxes work, we are able to customize it. You’ll get a list of the items you can choose, and normally you can pick 3. But if you choose something really expensive, you may only be able to choose 2. So I was pretty stoked when I was able to pick this brush and still pick one more item.

I love everything about this brush. I really needed an extra powder brush and this one is so soft and fluffy. I absolutely adore the weighted chrome handle. It’s just stunning.
Retail Value: $28 USD ($22.40 Maven)

Nail Colour in “Ellis”
Julep describes this colour as “Pink Dawn Linear Liquid Holographic.” I didn’t think I was going to get a nail polish because my collection is so huge but I kept going back to this one. I already own one of their liquid holographic polishes (Tali) and it is beautiful! I’m happy to add another holographic to my stash!
Retail Value: $14 USD ($11.20 Maven)

Total Retail Value: $60 USD ($48 Maven) / $79.41 CAD ($63.53 Maven)

BONUS ITEM: Nail Colour in “Desiree”
This is a surprise! Every box this month received a free bottle of this high-gloss holographic top coat! I’m assuming this gives a regular polish a holographic effect. I’m definitely very excited to try this out!

Final Thoughts? I’m always happy with my Julep box since I get to choose everything myself. I was able to snag two items on my wishlist (the brush and quick dry drops) and get a stunning new nail colour. Oh and a freebie to go along with everything! You can’t beat that.

xoxo, Tigritsa

Save

9 thoughts on “The One with the Julep October 2016 Maven Box

  1. I really hope they don’t change how often you can skip, I can’t afford a box every month but I love this subscription! I hope those quick dry drops work well for you, I always smudge my nails because I’m too impatient to let them dry properly lol

    Like

  2. Julep was one of my fave subscriptions but over a year ago I stopped wearing nail polish so I unsubscribed. However, their polishes are the best in my opinion and if I have an event and need a polish I go for one of them. I love the colour Ellis!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

