ipsy · subscription boxes · unboxing

The One with the Ipsy September 2016 Glam Bag

This is going to be a sad post! This will be my last glam bag! For now, anyway. I hope to resubscribe in the future but my yearly subscription is done! I figured I would wait a few months before signing up again so that I have a chance to get through some of my current products and save some money in the meantime. At least they are going out with a bang! I’m really excited about this bag.

What is it? Ipsy Glam Bag
How much is it? $10 USD per month
Ships to? Canada & US
Shipping costs? $4.95 USD per month; Free for US
What’s inside? 5 deluxe sample or full size beauty products, plus a makeup bag

Amie New Leaf Deep Pore Exfoliating Polish
This contains natural rice granules that deep clean the pores and lift away dirt, oil, and impurities. I can never have too many exfoliating products. My skin has been so much smoother and more radiant since I started realizing the importance of exfoliating! It’s supposed to smell like mango and orange blossom. Because I love citrus, I’m disappointed to say that I smell almost no scent at all! I like that it contains natural extracts and is free from parabens and all that yucky stuff!
Retail Value: $3.94 CAD

Avène Hydrance Optimale Hydrating Serum
I post in several Ipsy facebook groups and the majority are super disappointed with skin care products in their glam bags. I have redone my beauty quiz countless times to try and get more skin care!  XD I am beyond excited to try this hydrating serum! It is hypoallergenic and non-comedogenic which is a huge plus for my skin! I’ve been wanting to try an Avene product for awhile now. They are known for their thermal spring water in their products! This is supposed to keep skin hydrated for 24 hours. Yes, please!
Retail Value: $10.57 CAD

Too Faced Lip Injection Extreme
This is a plumping lip gloss and from what I’ve heard, it burrrrrns! Despite that, I really want to try this!  XD I recently tried a lip plumper from Know Cosmetics and it did not plump my lips at all. So, I’m curious to see how well this one works. Too Faced has a regular version of Lip Injection and the one we got in Ipsy is the Extreme version! So, I can just imagine the pain this is going to cause. But you know the saying – beauty is pain!
Retail Value: $17 CAD

Trust Fund Beauty Nail Polish
This colour is called “Champagne Socialite” and it’s a full size bottle. This colour is stunning! It’s a rose gold-y bronze-y shade. It’s so perfect for fall and winter. I’ve been wanting to try Trust Fund polishes and I’m glad I got this! It’s “10-free” aka it doesn’t have all those toxic ingredients that some polishes have. And it’s vegan and cruelty-free. What more could you want?!
Retail Value: $19.82 CAD

Seraphine Botanicals Guava Butter
I don’t dislike this product but it could be better! My main issue is how thick the packaging is. It does not apply well to my lips at all because it’s so big! With that said, this colour “Pure Guava” is quite nice on me and I like that it’s not too dark. Also, it’s very creamy! You can use it for your cheeks as well (in that case, the size is probably good). It’s cruelty free, organic, and vegan!
Retail Value: $31.71 CAD

Total Retail Value: $83.04 CAD

Final Thoughts? Another great value from Ipsy! It’s sad that my last glam bag is so good! It really made me not want to cancel. Here I am thinking that I must have finally got my quiz just right, just in time for my very last bag! Ha! It only took 11 months!  😉 Oh well! As I said, I’m definitely planning on resubscribing again someday. It’s nice they went out with a bang (for me). And in the meantime, I will be living vicariously through all of you and your unboxings!  😛 As for the bag design this month, it’s not terrible but I feel like they definitely could have made it “prettier.” Until next time, Ipsy!

xoxo, Tigritsa

6 thoughts on “The One with the Ipsy September 2016 Glam Bag

  1. I love the shade of the Trust Fund Beauty nail polish, it’s perfect for Fall! I keep hoping Ipsy will send me Trust fund, but I got the be a bombshell nail polish this month. The Too Faced product sounds scary!!

    Like

    1. I’m glad I finally got one! I remember nice shades of purple and pink in previous bags that I wanted! I just tried the lip injection tonight and it does tingle a lot! It’s not super painful but still a little bit. I didn’t see a big difference in size afterwards and the small difference I did notice went down after about 10 minutes. Not worth it.

      Like

      1. I always love the Trust fund colours, the names always make me laugh too. Awe, that’s disappointing about the lip injection. At least you didn’t pay full price!

        Like

Leave a Reply

