ipsy · subscription boxes · unboxing

The One with the Ipsy August 2016 Glam Bag

August is just about over (which means summer is too *cries*) and I only received my August bag this past Friday. The service from Ipsy is getting a little ridiculous. I never had a single problem with them from October ’15-May ’16. But since June, I’ve had issues every single month.

To top it all off, looks like I’ll have problems for my September bag also (which is my last bag in my annual sub – thank god). Ipsy sent an e-mail out to all its Canadian customers saying they will be holding all September bags “safely in their warehouse” due to a “possible strike.” So there hasn’t even been a strike but Ipsy has decided that the possibility of one is enough to hold our bags from us. *sigh*


Ok, enough ranting. Let’s look at my August glam bag.

What is it?ย Ipsy Glam Bag
How much is it? $10 USD per month
Ships to? Canada & US
Shipping costs? $4.95 USD per month; Free for US
What’s inside? 5 deluxe sample or full size beauty products, plus a makeup bag

111SKIN Bio Cellulose Facial Treatment Mask
This is a sheet mask that contains regenistem brightening CR to brighten the complexion, silk amino acids to moisturize and nourish, and centella asiatica to stimulate collagen production. Sounds fancy indeed. I use a sheet mask once a week and I’m always looking to try new ones! I’m hoping it’s going to be great based on the price!!
Retail Value: $34.21 CAD

IT Cosmetics No-Tug Waterproof Mini Gel Eyeliner
Normally I use liquid or pencil liner, so this is a good opportunity for me to try a gel eyeliner. I’m glad it’s in black since that’s the colour I use most. What’s notable about these liners is they are infused with hydrolyzed collagen, silk proteins, and Vitamin C and E (all anti-aging properties). I’m not sure how to get the exact price of things when the weights are below zero but I was able to figure out an estimate at around $15 USD.
Retail Value: $19.63 CAD (estimated)

Ciatรฉ London Paint Pot
You could receive either “Dangerous Affair,” a dark burgundy, or “Spinning Teacups,” a pastel lavender. I got the misfortune of getting the burgundy. To me, it is SO ugly. It looks like BBQ sauce. While I’m not generally a big fan of receiving polishes in my bags, if it’s a colour I’ll wear, I’m for it. I would have been stoked to get the lavender. This is a full size bottle of polish, too, and for me, it will go to waste.
Retail Value: $15.66 CAD

Peter Lamas Supreme Radiance Complexion Booster
I’m not 100% sure what this is exactly but I’m thinking you could use it as a primer under makeup or even wear it by itself on lazy days to give a more even radiant complexion. From pictures (I haven’t opened mine yet), it looks like it could be a Benefit Porefessional type consistency. It contains some great skin benefits like Retinol and Salicylic acid for fine lines and wrinkles, and Coenzyme Q-10 and Vitamin E oil to hydrate and smooth. I’ll definitely try this out.
Retail Value: $19.19 CAD

Winky Lux Diamond Complexion Powder
Not going to lie, at first glance when the sneak peak was released, I thought I was getting another highlighter and was a little irritated. I’m so happy to find out this is actually a powder. I got “light” which suits my skin tone. The powder contains genuine crushed diamonds, gives a shine-free finish, won’t clog pores and is cruelty free. It took a lot of sleuthing to find the full size weight (their official website does not list it) but I was able to track it down at 8.5 g (Ipsy sent a 3 g sample).
Retail Value: $9.24 CAD

Total Retail Value: $97.93 CAD

Ipsy 250 Point Item: Pixi Glow Tonic Exfoliating Toner + Bonus Item (for July’s troubles): Derma E Microdermabrasion Scrub

Final Thoughts? I’m a little blown away at the retail value of this bag. My last few bags have been around the $50-$60 mark, which is great for a $20 bag, but the $100 mark is very impressive. I do have a few little nitpick-y complaints, such as the polish being a colour I don’t like. If I had got the purple, this bag would’ve been perfect. The other 4 items are products I will definitely use and am excited to try. I feel like this bag is such a huge improvement on July’s bag. My only other small complaint is I didn’t get the blue-hair girl bag! My heart was really set on that one. I just think it is sooo stunning. The purple-hair girl is beautiful, also and the more I look at it, the more I like it. Michelle Phan did a phenomenal job with the designs.

xoxo, Tigritsa

Save

5 thoughts on “The One with the Ipsy August 2016 Glam Bag

Leave a Reply

