empties · reviews

The One with the Empties June 2016


I’ve been wanting to do an empties post for a long time now but I keep throwing them away instead of saving the empty bottles! Just such a habit. I really tried the last month to remember to save them! Like most of you with multiple beauty subscriptions, I have an endless supply of products I’m trying to get through. Here are my empties from this month!

Dr. Brandt PoreDermabrasion Pore Perfecting Exfoliator

What it’s supposed to do (from brand’s website):

Dr. brandt PoreDermabrasion is a unique physical and chemical exfoliator and pore perfector in one. No matter how old you are or what type of skin you have, enlarged pores are a huge concern. Shrink them down to the vanishing point while smoothing and evening skin’s texture.

  • helps refine the appearance of pores
  • helps cleanse pores
  • helps smooth and even skin texture

I really loved this exfoliator. I instantly noticed smoother skin after using this, and there was a notable difference in my pores. I think this product does exactly what it claims to do. I’m not sure if I would repurchase because it’s very expensive and the Canadian Sephora does not even carry it. I would however recommend it to others, 100%.

Elizabeth Arden Prevage Anti-Aging + Intensive Repair Daily Serum

What it’s supposed to do (from brand’s website):

Environmental stress can cause skin aging twice as fast*. This intensive serum improves the appearance of fine lines and “lifts” the look of skin within 15 minutes† and keeps working to protect against damage and visible aging signs with our best anti-aging technology ever.

I’m all about the anti-aging products lately. I’m almost 30 so I can see some fine lines popping up around my eye area, and forehead. The only problem with sample size anti-aging products, it’s almost impossible to know if the product is working. Most take a few weeks to a few months to start seeing results and samples this size only last me a week, or if I’m lucky, two.

I found I needed to use a lot of product to spread onto my skin. This serum left kind of a subtle shimmer look on my skin. A funny thing happened when I first started using this product. I kept thinking maybe I got a tan because my skin was looking a little darker but actually, the colour of this serum is yellow and I realized it was actually leaving a yellow glow on my skin! XD I don’t think I would repurchase this for that reason.

Olay Regenerist Wrinkle Revolution Complex

What it’s supposed to do (from brand’s website):

Olay Regenerist Instant Fix Wrinkle Revolution Complex instantly reduces the appearance of wrinkles and smoothes skin texture for flawless make-up application. With continued use, you’ll notice a reduction in lines and wrinkles over time. The fast-absorbing, non-greasy formula also leaves skin feeling cashmere-soft.

I’m on about my 4th little tube of this product and I finally remembered to save one. I only use this at night and only on my forehead. I think I notice a small difference in the lines on my forehead and it’s probably thanks to the fact that I do have so many of these tubes, so I’m able to see results. I feel like it temporarily fills the line so it’s only a quick fix while you’re wearing it. I don’t think I would ever purchase this. While I agree it is non-greasy, I don’t like the way it feels on my skin.

Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream All-Over Miracle Oil

What it’s supposed to do (from brand’s website):

A potent blend of moisturizing ingredients, including Tsubaki Oil, combine to deliver intensive all-over moisture for face, body and hair. Clinically proven to moisturize for up to 12 hours,* this multi-use formula leaves skin hydrated, smooth and looking luminous, without a greasy after-feel. Hair regains its moisture and shine.

I am in LOVE. I am so impressed with this oil. I was so scared to try skin oils since I have oily and acne prone skin but when I read this product was non-comedogenic, that helped me get on board. I still remember the first night I used this, waking up in the morning, and my skin was absolutely glowing. It looked so radiant and bright. It’s not greasy and didn’t leave me oily. I am definitely buying a full-size version of this!

The coolest thing about this product is I can use it in my hair too. So after applying it to my skin, I use the excess on my hands and run it through the ends of my hair! Not a drop wasted.

NeoStrata SecureWhite Brightening Serum

What it’s supposed to do (from brand’s website):

The SecureWhite™ Brightening Serum is a highly powerful solution to rapidly correct the appearance of dark spots and acne marks, unify an uneven skin tone, and brighten dull skin.

  • VISIBLE RESULTS, CLINICALLY PROVEN EFFICACY:
  • Up to -52% reduction in the appearance of dark spot in 2 weeks
  • Up to +42% improvement in overall look of skin brightness
  • Reveals a more uniform complexion

Let me get one thing out of the way. This serum smells awful. I couldn’t stand the smell at all. I don’t think there was enough in the bottle for me to really tell if it was fading my acne scars. I definitely found that it brightened my skin so I liked that about it. I wouldn’t repurchase this because there are many serums out there that brighten skin that don’t smell so bad.

And that’s it for this month! Hopefully I’ve reminded you about your own empties or maybe inspired you to post about your own! I love reading first hand experiences with products so let me know if you have any opinions on these empties!

*muah*
Love Tigritsa

 

One thought on “The One with the Empties June 2016

Leave a Reply

