julep · subscription boxes · unboxing

The One with the Julep June 2016 Maven Box

I’m so excited to receive my first Julep Maven box! I subscribed in April when they had the fantastic deal to sign up for one month and get a set of 12 nail polishes completely free! Check out this post to see the amazing gift! What I like about Julep is they always have a free gift option for new subscribers.

A couple more great things about the Maven box are you can skip months instead of cancelling, you get discounted prices in the shop, and you can choose exactly what you want in your box!

What is it? Julep Maven Box
How much is it? $24.99 USD monthly
Ships to? Canada & US
Shipping costs? Free
What’s inside? 3 full size nail or beauty products

Julep Nail Colour in “Adrian”
This colour is described as daffodil crème and is in their “Boho Glam” category. I really love their creme finish polishes and I’ve never had a yellow polish before. I chose this one because it’s so cheerful and bright. I thought it would be a perfect colour to try for the summer!

Julep Nail Colour in “Naveena”
This colour is described as lush jungle teal jelly and is in their “Wonder Maven” category. This colour was chosen for me but I liked it a lot and decided to keep it. I haven’t tried one of their “jelly” polishes yet so I’m not sure if I’ll like it as much as the cremes. Very pretty colour though!

Julep Skip the Brush Crème-to-Powder Blush Stick in “Sweet Peach”
This was another product that was chosen for me. I originally swapped it out for another nail polish but my curious mind decided to try it afterall. It’s such a lovely shade. I’ve used it already and it will take some practice to master this. I thought it would be easier than using a brush. Basically, when I try to blend it, the pigmentation disappears a lot so I need to work on my technique apparently! 🙂

So that was everything that came in the Maven box! I was able to choose add-ons at a discounted price and well, you probably know what happened next…

Alexa – Hyacinth crème, Shay – Celadon iridescent chrome, Zoey – Sea spray crème
Yep, I couldn’t resist. Alexa and Zoey are right up my alley with the creme finishes and boho colours, and Shay was just so sparkly and pretty. I can’t wait to wear all three!

Since I ordered 3 add-ons, I was given a free gift. I received another nail polish in the colour “Saaya.” It is a golden apricot shimmer. This is a beautiful colour. I already own it, though. So I will be saving it for a giveaway!!

Final Thoughts? I’m impressed with my first Maven box! I mean, how could I not be? I basically got to curate it myself so if I wasn’t happy with it, I only have myself to blame! 😛 Since it was my first, I went a little overboard with the add-ons. I’m going to try my best not to do that next month. I just love the Julep polishes so much ever since discovering them. I have had great luck with their staying power. Every other polish chips so quickly on me but Julep have not. I’ve only been using a cheap $2.99 Pure Ice top coat and it seems to be a great combo.

That’s it, that’s all!
xoxo, Tigritsa

3 thoughts on “The One with the Julep June 2016 Maven Box

Leave a Reply

