ipsy · subscription boxes · unboxing

The One with the Ipsy May 2016 Glam Bag

It’s almost June and I haven’t done my subscription reviews for May! I apologize! I’ve been getting more hours than I can handle at work and my life has been eat, sleep, shower, repeat for the last couple weeks! So let’s get right into looking at my glam bag!

What is it? Ipsy Glam Bag
How much is it? $10 USD per month
Ships to? Canada & US
Shipping costs? $4.95 USD per month; Free for US
What’s inside? 5 deluxe sample or full size beauty products, plus a makeup bag

Épicé Hydrating Mask
I’m totally into face masks so I love that I received this hydrating mask this month. I’ve never heard of the brand before! This mask uses Kaolin clay to absorb oil and impurities without stripping your skin of moisture. Sounds exactly like what I need!
Retail Value: $16.33 CAD

Biossance The Revitalizer Universal Moisturizing Concentrate
I actually wasn’t sure if this was for hair or skin until I looked it up on the Ipsy website. Apparently it’s for skin! You can use it head to toe and it will increase cell turnover which will leave your skin soft and revitalized! This looks like a great product.
Retail Value: $6.06 CAD

Hikari Shimmer Bronzer
I seem to have acquired many bronzers lately after owning absolutely none! 😄 I think Gen Beauty is partially to blame for that. This one looks very pretty! The beautiful corals and copper colours can easily be used for eyeshadow, blush or highlight, also! This is a full sized product, which is always awesome to get.
Retail Value: $22.21 CAD

Smashbox X-Rated Mascara
Mascara is my number 1 makeup product so I can’t complain about getting another, even though I feel like I have a million to get through at this point! I received Smashbox’s Full Exposure mascara way back in November’s glam bag and I wouldn’t buy it. I hope the X-Rated is much better! I don’t know the exact retail value on this since it doesn’t list a size, but I did my best to estimate.
Retail Value: $12.50 (estimated)

SLMissGlam Small Contour W07 Brush
I think I get a brush in every bag now! Which is totally awesome because now I’m building up my brush collection without having to go buy them at full price. I’ve used this brush quite a bit already! It seems perfect for adding contour to the nose area! Such a cute little brush! For the retail value, I had to estimate based on the prices of their other brushes since the brush is not available on it’s own. Then of course, I had to put it into CAD!
Retail Value: $18.94 CAD (estimated)

Total Retail Value: $76.04 CAD

Final Thoughts? I think this bag was great! The total retail value is significantly lower than my April bag, I noticed, but I loved all the items I received. I think my favourites are the brush and the hydrating mask. I don’t really have any complaints this month. There were 3 colours available for the actual bag – blue, purple, and pink – and I got the purple! I was very happy about that because it’s the one I wanted! The design is also right up my alley since I love world landmarks. Overall, this was a good month for Ipsy!

Stay beautiful, my friends
xoxo, Tigritsa

Save

5 thoughts on “The One with the Ipsy May 2016 Glam Bag

Leave a Reply

