subscription boxes, topbox, unboxing

The One with the Topbox February 2016 Box

What is it? Topbox
How much is it? $12 CAD per month
Ships to? Canada
Shipping costs? Free
What’s inside? 4 deluxe sample or full size beauty products

POP Beauty Kajal Pen
This is a full size eyeliner in the colour “Inky Purple” and it includes a smudger on the other end! I didn’t open it to get a better picture because I’m not sure if I’m keeping it. I’ve received purple eyeliners before from subscription boxes and I didn’t like how they looked on me. This one is a lot darker so I’m trying to contemplate if I want to try it or not.

Morgan Taylor Professional Nail Lacquer
If you read the description of this nail polish on the product card, it’s absolutely over the top and ridiculous. Are they trying to make up for the fact that they sent such an unappealing colour?! 😛 The shade is called “Later Alligator” and it’s just not a colour I would wear. Send me a mint green and I’ll be happy. But I feel like this colour is hard to wear on days that aren’t Christmas or St. Patrick’s Day! Aside from the colour, I do want to say that this brand of polish goes on really well. I did one quick coat to swatch it and it looks perfect. I’ll definitely look into other shades of this brand.

Nova Scotia Fisherman Sea Salt Soap
This stuff smells heavenly. Wow! As soon as I opened my package, this was all I could smell. I’m not sure what’s in it that makes it smell this good, because all it says is “natural fragrance blend.” I haven’t used bar soap in forever. Normally it dries my skin right out. But, because it smells so darn good, I just have to try it. It’s 100% natural and no animal testing!! Hopefully it works as good as it smells. I would hate for it to end up being drying on my skin.

Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer
It seems like I have a million of these little guys floating around my place. I don’t mind though. At this point, it’s not the most exciting sample to receive but at least I know I will use it! It’s an oil-free primer that helps reduce the appearance of fine lines and pores. I think this is a pretty good primer. I can notice a difference in my skin while just wearing the primer by itself.

Final Thoughts? Well…I am a little disappointed. I loved my boxes the last two months, but this month is so underwhelming. There was potential, for sure. If the eyeliner and nail polish were simply different colours, I would feel much happier with this box. It seems like a lot of people were disappointed with this month. I really hope for something better next month!!

Ciao!
xoxo, Tigritsa

3 thoughts on “The One with the Topbox February 2016 Box”

Leave a Reply

