birchbox canada · subscription boxes · unboxing

The One with the BirchBox Canada October 2015 Box

I received my October BirchBox yesterday. The mail man jammed it into the mail box so badly, I almost couldn’t get it out! I went back and forth a lot before deciding to go through with this subscription. It’s $10 a month plus $4.95 shipping and handling. That’s pretty cheap but after ordering from Ipsy and FabFitFun first, I realized that the exchange rate for Canadians is downright bad. Luckily, I figured out BirchBox has a Canadian version that charges Canadian dollars. I was disappointed that I still had to pay shipping, when it’s being advertised as Canadian. It seems like most of the American subscription boxes out there do not charge shipping within the U.S.


I’m glad I decided, in the end, to subscribe. My first box exceeded my expectations. I got 5 items I will actually use, unlike my Ipsy bag, which had 2 items I will absolutely never use. I love the look of the BirchBox box. It’s like a pink marble design. Very pretty!


Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle Leave-in Conditioner

I can’t wait to try this. I’ve been meaning to buy a leave-in conditioner but never remembered while I was shopping. This one says it protects from heat damage, and locks in colour. I straighten and dye my hair, so that’s perfect for me!


Davines LOVE Smoothing Shampoo / Conditioner bonus sample

They threw in a one-time use bonus sample of the conditioner, so it’s nice to be able to try that out with the shampoo. The shampoo says it is for coarse or frizzy hair. Since I have the latter, hopefully it works. It smells great, too! You can’t be mad at receiving shampoo in one of these boxes. Who couldn’t use shampoo, right?!


Embryolisse Lait-Crème Concentré Nourishing Moisturizer

I am super excited about this! It took me a second to figure out what it was because the packaging is predominately in French. This is thick cream for your face. It’s supposed to heal dryness and prep skin for foundation. At that dreaded time of the month, I get terrible acne, which I treat with tea tree oil. That stuff works but it dries your skin out badly! This moisturizer will be perfect to use on those spots that need a lot of extra moisture! The tube you get is super tiny but I’m only going to use it a little at a time.


Eyeko Black Magic Mascara

Well, I must say I have never seen mascara packaged like this before! It’s very different, and I wonder how the wand gets to the very corners of the tube. I’m assuming it doesn’t and then a lot of the mascara will go to waste. Mascara is my go-to make-up item so I’m excited to try this out. It will definitely get used!


ModelCo Ultra Long-Lasting Lipstick – Stiletto

I think I’m in love. I have never been a lipstick girl, but I tried this on, took some selfies, and got complimented a lot. I was shocked! It’s a pinky red colour and I wouldn’t have thought such a bold colour would look good on me, but it’s made an impression. I hope to work up the courage to wear this outside the house. I feel so fancy when I wear anything other than BB cream and mascara, and I’m trying to get out of that way of thinking. Anyway, I think I will buy another tube of this stuff when I run out, because I love it that much.

So, there we have it. I’m highly impressed BirchBox! I like that all 5 items are useable for me. It makes the money I paid completely worth it. A huge part of why I’ve started subscribing to these boxes is because I really want to try experimenting with new products and make-up but I feel shy about it. These boxes are helping me try things I would never buy myself, and it’s paying off. It feels good to treat yourself, also! 🙂

Au revoir,
Tigritsa

Save

Leave a Reply

