Uncategorized

The One with the First Day of School

A new chapter has begun in my little man’s life. Today was his very first day of junior kindergarten. Leading up to this day, I was very excited. I didn’t feel nervous at all. I couldn’t wait for today to get here! This morning, I started to feel a little nervous. I had so many questions and worries. What if he pees his pants? What if he doesn’t understand the teacher? (He’s taking French Immersion). What if someone is mean to him? But, it all flashed through my mind pretty quickly because I was back to being thrilled in no time.

Thankfully, he fully cooperated with getting ready this morning. Sometimes it can be a struggle! He is definitely a staller. But we made sure to wake up earlier than we had to, just in case. 😉 At this point, he is accustomed to leaving mommy and daddy in the morning. He went to daycare for 3 years on a consistent basis so I wasn’t worried about his emotional attachment to us when it was time for us to part. I had faith that he would do just fine!

The walk to the school is only about 10 minutes, but it took 15 with the little guy. When we arrived in the playground, it was just packed. Chaos! With 5 kindergarten classes, plus teachers, helpers and lots of parents, there had to be 300 people! We had no clue what we were supposed to do. Eventually, I saw signs with teacher’s names, but I couldn’t find the one I was looking for. Eventually, we had to ask and we found his teacher. She seemed very nice and friendly and the ECE helper seemed like a sweetheart, as well. They spoke to little man all in French since daddy started the conversation, and he just stared at them. He doesn’t know any French at all!

We encouraged ti-loup (daddy’s nickname for little man) to play on the jungle gym while we were waiting but he seemed a little shy and stuck close to mom and dad. Soon enough it was time to enter the school. We weren’t sure if parents were allowed to join the kids because the majority left but we saw a couple parents follow their children inside so we decided to go, too.

It was really nice to be able to find him his hook that had his name on it. Something so little like that made it seem so much realer. I watched as he hung his backpack up and put on his indoor shoes. Two small things that he will do every single school day! I got a small peak at the classroom but I was so focused on little man that I didn’t get a good look. We said goodbye and he went to sit with the other kids. That simple. That easy.

I didn’t think I would cry. And I didn’t. But I was super close. It wasn’t that I was sad or scared but I felt an overwhelming sense of pride. I just can’t believe that he is old enough to go to school and seem so at ease with it, too. I was very proud of him!

Since I work night shifts, I needed some sleep, so that was the first thing I did with my “freedom” when I got home. It was nice to get a couple hours of sleep but I was getting very anxious to pick him up! When it was finally time, we met him at school and tried to pull some information out of him, which is a very difficult task. Even when I ask very specific questions, I don’t get any detail or he will say “I don’t know” or “I don’t remember.”

I was able to find out that he had a good day, at least. He said he had fun, which was great to hear. I asked him if he felt sad or scared at any point and he said, “no, just happy!” One thing that he did remember enough to tell us was that he didn’t like the “pink” girl. Pink referring to the colour of her shirt, since he doesn’t know her name! He said she pulled on his shirt and almost ruined it! But he really liked the “blue” boy. He was very nice and they played together in the playground. He also said he fell and hurt himself outside, but he put water on it and was ok!

I asked him what he did in class but I really couldn’t get much. I asked what he did and he said “everything!” So I tried to narrow it down. Did you colour? Did you play games? Did you read stories? Sing songs?, etc. But he said no to everything. Eventually, he finally said that he played toys and read stories. He also said he likes his teacher.

Tomorrow will be his second day and I’m excited for him! Hopefully the “pink” girl is nicer to him. 😉

xoxo, Tigritsa

Leave a Reply

